My Reviews (236)

Chicken and Lime Soup with Avocado

This is a spicy Mexican style soup of chicken simmered with chillies, garlic, onions and lime and then combined with avocado. Delicious and filling.
Reviews (236)


21 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: FRED NIELSON
I am a soup lover. I wanted to make avacado soup and thought I would give this one a try. Wow! I didn't use as many jalapeno's as called for and removed the seeds. Glad I did. Three peppers were just about right for us. This is the perfect soup to accompany your Mexican Food dinner. We had a good Mexican beer with our meal and it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: pellito
so tasty! i've made this soup many times, i add corn and sometimes a little rice too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KAILASMITH
This was fantastic!! I loved the lime juice in this soup- it gave it a nice tang. It was very filling, but light so you can have it any day of the week. I actually wish it had more avocado so I added 2 instead of 1 1/2. I also added a dollop of sour cream at the end and it gave the soup a nice rich flavor. Will definetly make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Homestead Grandma
I hate to be the lone disenting voice but we ended up throwing most of this out. I highly suggest you add the lime a little bit at a time to taste. It was just waaay too sour and tangy for us. I took some of the leftovers and poured off most of the tangy broth and replaced it with plain chicken broth. I then topped it with shredded Monterey Jack and some thin crushed tortilla chips. It was much improved but still probably not a soup I would make again. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: bhappe
very tastey! I made quite a bit to feed my mom, my sister, and some hungry men, and it satisfied all! My sister doesn't like cilantro and my dad doesn't like avocado, so rather than add them to the soup i added them to individual bowls, and everyone could have as much as they liked of each. I wasn't going to toast the tortilla strips 'cause i figured they'd just get soggy anyway (so what's the point?) But since i was preheating the oven for something else i did it anyway. I'm glad i did, because the next day i just threw some torilla strips in with the left overs and they were a whole different kind of soggy! tortilla mush. Definately toast them first. I also added corn for a little more color, and a tad less garlic. I threw in some more spices toward the end for more flavor, to make up for slightly less jalapeno. (I didn't want to kill everyone with the ammount called for in this recipe!) It could have used more chicken for our tastes as well, but totally a keeper. Very easy to modify! The lime was excellent, i could have used more. I served this with cuban black beans best spanish rice, and ultimate frozen strawberry margaritas. What a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Ranjo
I fell in love with chicken and lime soup while traveling in the Yucatan years ago. When I found this recipe, I fell in love all over again. This has become a staple for me, and I have developed a few variations- first, I usually double the avocado and tomato for a heartier soup; sometimes I add sour cream. For a vegetarian version I eliminate the chicken and substitute vegetable broth, and add ground cumin, corn and black beans (canned works fine, one can each, rinsed and drained). The soup is beautiful and spicy, perfect for a light summer meal with fresh garden tomatoes, or as a colorful and spicy winter treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Pati
I added a can of pinquito beans and some frozen corn to this recipe and it was very filling and flavorful. The cilantro and real lime juice really make it stand out. Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Kellie
This soup was so tastey, I am not a fan of cilantro but followed the recipe to a tee (used 2 jalepinos not 4) To me it was to die for... Top of my list. Thank you !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: EatsBooks
This soup has great flavor. Husband loves it tremendously. He suggests a side dish of Mexican rice & beans. A definite recipe to make over and over. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Ladelyke
Good base! Substituted can of green chiles for the jalopenos, doubled the cilantro, added thinly sliced mushrooms, and shredded cabbage and carrots for a flavorful and filling meal. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes