My Reviews (35)

Eggplant Polenta Rounds

Savoury eggplant with a hint of spice. Serve as a starter, side, or use to top toasties with lots of melted cheese. I recommend grilling these rounds rather than frying, but they are delicious either way!
Reviews (35)


27 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: susanbl
What a delicious and simple eggplant recipe. I grilled this as suggested and it turned out really well. It was a little dry, but I served it with a homemade tomato-based sauce which made it just perfect.
 
12 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: GroovyGroovyMama
This is a great eggplant recipe. Instead of frying, I baked them. I added 1 tsp seasoned salt, and 1/2 tsp tumeric to the coating. I also brushed the pieces with olive oil, then coated them. I placed them on a baking sheet lined with parcement paper. 400 degrees fo about 30-40 minutes, turning at the halfway point.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Linda T
YUM! This is the best. I played around with this recipe a little and came up with the following. I mixed the cornmeal with some whole wheat flour, added chili powder, garlic salt and oregano. I dipped the eggplant slices in better than eggs then in the dry mixture. I baked these on a well oiled cookie sheet until done. If you cut these slices thick enough, they don't taste dry at all. The thicker ones were moist on the inside and nicely cruncy on the outside. I am so glad eggplant is on sale right now so I can make this again next week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KAYSWV
This is outstanding. Even people who normally do not like eggplant will enjoy these. The only change that I made was to spray them with olive oil PAM type spray and bake until done rather then fry them. Kayswv
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Getty
I grilled the eggplant instead of frying it-it was not bad. To help the breading stick to the eggplant, I dipped it into eggbeaters. I served with a horseradish sauce which gave it a good zing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: elizaBEASTie
These were quite good but I did change the seasoning a bit. Hubby and I aren't great fans of oregano so I added garlic power and parsley and cut the chili powder in half. It suited our taste very well and I will make these again using those seasonings as well as dipping in egg mixture to help the coating stick better. I sliced my eggplant thick and served it with spaghetti as a side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Kim
This is a simple but tasty preparation that I'll definitely make again. I cut the eggplant thick -- about 3/4 inch. I also cooked some zucchini the same way, cut in third lengthwise (they were small zucchinis). I added some garlic powder to the cornmeal mix, and I baked instead of frying the vegetables. I cooked at 400 for about 40 minutes, using plenty of oil and flipping halfway through. I'm very satisfied with these; they go great with the stuffed shells I made for dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2011
Reviewed by: Matt
We Grilled them and followed the recipe to a T. No flavor, not enough seasoning, should have used olive oil or egg to make the seasoning stick. Should not have used cornmeal at all on the grill. Fried it may have been ok, but the idea of using this recipe on the grill is completely bogus. sorry
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Melanie C.
Sadly, I did not like this at all. Eggplant really soaks up oil (I probably should have thought of that earlier). So, in the end each piece was so saturated with oil that you could barely taste the eggplant. And with a recipe that calls for a quart of oil you're in for many, many unneeded calories. Sorry, it was a flop for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Kris
this was my first time ever cooking eggplant...being new to the cooking area I found this to be easy and very tasty... I added a few dashes of some garlic powder, Mrs Dash, pepper, and paprika. went over very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes