My Reviews (486)

Asparagus with Parmesan Cheese

Add tasty cheesy Italian parmesan flavour to asparagus! This goes well as a fresh side to almost any dish, or as a light flavourful snack!
Reviews (486)


21 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: RANCHGIRL_59714
I'm rating this a 5* because, with alterations, it is a HIT! I took the advice of other reviewers and added minced garlic and chopped onions (about 2 cloves and 1/2 an onion) and also threw in 2 slices bacon at the beginning, as my fiance doesn't like asparagas especially and would REALLY turn his nose up if no meat products were involved.....it was AMAZING!!!! Ooooh, he loved it so much he ate the whole pan (1 lb) of asparagus, and was slobbering for more. I probably used 1/2 c freshly shredded parm all said and done. Thank you!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Jamie
This is the only way we prepare our asparagus now! VERY GOOD! Another way to prepare it is in the oven. You can spray a pan with Pam, then you line up the asparagus and shake it a bit so all sides are coated with the spray. Then sprinkle with kosher salt and pepper. Bakes at 450 for 5 minutes. Then sprinkle with paremesan when you pull the pan out of the oven. Baking and spraying with a fat-free cooking spray may make it a bit healthier
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2003
Reviewed by: NPEAKE
This recipe is awesome. I alter it slightly to decrease fat. I steam for 3 minutes, drain, then saute in 1 T oil and 1 T butter for 5 min. and then sprinkle fresh parm cheese on it. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: chellebelle
Hmmm... reading reviews people said 3/4 TSP of cheese was not enough but the recipe I see calls for 3/4 CUP of parmesan, which seemed like too much! So I just sprinkled till it looked right which came out to probably around 1/3 cup. I also put 1/2 tsp of chopped garlic in the butter and oil and squirted the juice of 1/2 a lemon over the asparagus before adding the cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Wenderbell
Used the suggestion of a previous reviewer. Sprayed down a rimmed cookie sheet with some PAM, rolled the asparagus around in it then seasoned with salt, pepper and a little garlic powder. Baked in a 450 degree oven for 5-7 minutes. Then sprinkled with the parmesan cheese. Deee-licious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I sauteed some minced onion and minced garlic in the EVOO/butter, then let it cool. After it had cooled a little, I drizzled the mixture over the asparagus. I roasted this instead of cooking it in the skillet. I also used fresh parmesan. Family didn't care for it but I LOVED IT. NOTE: I served this with Mushroom Wild Rice Bake and Corn Bread Chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
I thought this was pretty good! I admit I did use a bag of frozen asparagus and I cooked it in the microwave. I cooked a 12 oz bag in a bowl covered with plastic wrap with about 1/4 cup of water, on the package directions. Then, I drained and added 1 Tblsp of whipped butter and olive oil to taste about 2 Tblsp. I covered and cooked 1 more minute. Then, I sprinkled on the cheese to taste about 1/3 of a cup or less and microwaved 1 more minute. I sprinkled on a little salt when I took them out of the microwave. I didn't mean to change the cooking method but, I did it out of ease. And, I used all of the ingredients listed, but scaled them back to cut a few calories. In the end delicous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DANELLE B
Made the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. My husband who had never put an asparagus in his mouth in 35 years - has eaten this 4 times in the last 2 weeks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JenElaine
Fresh grated parmesan cheese!! Not the canned junk. Hope I didn't forget anything else!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
This would have been a 5-star recipe for me had it not been for the excessive amount of Parmesan called for. In my view it should be used merely to enhance the asparagus, not to dominate it. Once done and on the serving plate, I just added shavings of Parmigiano-Reggiano to suit our tastes. I can't imagine topping the asparagus with this much Parmesan cheese!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes