My Reviews (85)

Mushroom and Asparagus Frittata

Asparagus is a great ingredient and goes well with mushrooms in this easy to make frittata recipe. Perfect for a midweek meal or weekend brunch or lunch.
Reviews (85)


17 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Kayte1
This was a great, easy recipie, with soft complimentary flavours! The only thing i might do different next time would be to add in some bacon with the mushroom and asparagus for a bit more flavour
 
27 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: BOOPAWEST
Very good veggie dish. Like the other reviewer, I also reduced the cooking time for the asparagus to 5-7 minutes. Reduced calories/fats/etc. by using less olive oil to cook the asparagus; egg substitute and low-fat mozzarella cheese. Kept the real/fresh Parmesan cheese so the dish still had lots of flavor. Because I don't have an oven-safe skillet, I poured the mixture into an oven-safe baking dish to pop under the broiler and to serve from directly. Will KEEP this recipe in my collection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: TLINSE
This recipe had a WONDERFUL taste. All of our family gobbled it up - even the 2 and 1 year old! I did make quite a few "tweaking"-like changes though. To the ingredients I added 1 tsp. hot sauce, 1/2 tsp. salt and 3 Tbsp crumbled bacon (I think these were suggested in an earlier review). In the instructions under #2 I changed the cooking time for the asparagus to 6 minutes - 10 would have been WAY too long and the mushrooms only needed to be cooked 3 minutes. Under #3 I only had to cook the egg mixture for 2-3 minutes. Under #4 I baked the 10 minutes but it was very brown and close to burnt - I would adapt this to 7-10 minutes and watch it closely. The cheese needs to be broiled about 1-2 minutes. This is going in the KEEPER file!! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: TWOTIMEMOM
Yummy, even for a light dinner. I shortened my cooking time on the asparagus, otherwise mine would have been overdone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA
This was excellent! Cooked the asparagus only 5 minutes as suggested, then added the mushrooms. Used 8 egg whites and 2 whole eggs to lighten up the calories and cholesterol. Couldn't tell the difference! This has so many possibilities. Needed some pepper and salt, but you can add that on your own. Served it with a baked potato and salad for a no fuss dinner. This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: From SF, CA
I don't usually change recipes the first time I make them - but for this, I diced half an onion and sauteed it prior to the asparagus & mushrooms. In addition, I had some old bread (a nice Grace Baking loaf) and chopped that up and added it to the egg mixture - along with some lowfat milk and non-fat cottage cheese - to create a savory bread pudding of sorts. Oh and I didn't have parmesan or mozzarella so used some white cheddar. Turned out quite well - husband ate more than half & had some for leftovers the next day. Served with a small green salad and some prosecco - delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: mikita
when I first said to my husband we were having frittata for dinner - he gave me the "oh gah we're having some sort of foo-foo girly food" look. but when I served it to him, he said it was delicious. I made it in a cast iron skillet and the only thing I did differently was add some chopped up green onions in right before I dumped the egg mixture in the pan. (needed to use them up) Great easy recipe that you can adjust however you like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JAM35
This was so good and so easy. I've made it 3 times and we actually like it better without the cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: EJNE7
A really good vegetarian main meal; even my irritable meat-eating family thought it was substantial enough. I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ReneeFS
Wonderful recipe. I added red onion,since I had one already chopped, used less oil/butter . Also after cooking vegtables in skillet,I put them into a greased(PAM)glass baking dish, and poured beaten eggs(8) over veggies. Baking time was increased by about 5-8 minutes due to my changes. Will save this recipe for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes