My Reviews (75)

Carrot and Apple Muffins

Carrots and apples combine in this muffin recipe to create a tasty but healthy alternative for your next morning or afternoon tea.
Reviews (75)


Comment:
04 Aug 2010
shandy said:
Extremely moist. Made a lot more than recipe says when you make mini muffins. Wholemeal flour and gluten free baking powder also makes this an even healthier choice
 
26 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Noochie Mama
I wish this recipe had a face so I could punch it. I was in a rush, so I only read the first two reviews, neither of which mentioned the salty issue. And while my baker's instinct said that there was too much salt and baking soda in the recipe, I followed it anyways. These were so salty. If I wasn't fortunate enough to have some leftover vegan orange/cream cheese frosting in the refrigerator, they would have been inedible. A shame too, because the muffins would have been delicious if I had followed my instinct and not the recipe. How anyone who follows this recipe exactly can give it a positive review is beyond me. I give it a two because there's a lot of potential here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Mandy
5 stars for the concept, that is for sure. The carrot and apple mixture are great together! 1 star lost due to the needed tweaking. I only used 1 tsp of baking soda, and 3/4 tsp of salt - otherwise we would have tasted nothing but those two ingredients! Also, I omit the oil to cut fat, and replaced it with two small mashed bananas. These muffins turned out fabulously! Thanks so much for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: BETTABEAN
This muffin recipe is definately a keeper- however, I changed the cooking time to 400 degrees F for 20 to 25 minutes since the batter is so dense. Yet, everytime I have made these quick breads, I am quick to notice the taste of either the baking soda or baking powder; I am in the process in trying to eliminate this. I also use three bananas as my egg substitute which seems to work just fine. My advice, use the recipe as a guide and let the creative take over the rest.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Family Connections
I work for program that provides healthy snacks to students in elemantary school. These muffins worked great! I decreased the salt and used 3 mashed bananas instead of the eagg replacer. The kids love these. I made them into mini muffins and was able to get about 72.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: valbelle
Thanks for this great recipe. I love the muffins and they are the perfect snack for my todders, who can't have dairy or eggs right now! The only changes I made was to use 1 c. of whole wheat flour and 1.5 c. of white flour. I cut the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. as other reviews said they found them to be salty and I cooked them at 400 degrees for 20 min. I will be making these often!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: SEACHUB
Whenever someone says vegans eat nothing nice - shove one of these delicious muffins in front of their face and they'll shut up! They are easy, quick and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Dana
For a good for you muffin that still tastes good this recipe is great. I did cut the salt down by half, add a little more applesauce and a little less oil, and replace 1/2 cup flour with whole wheat flour. They turned out great and very moist. Also an easy way to sneak in some fruit and veggies for my 3 year old. I will be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: JACRI
This is one of the best muffin recipies I have ever made! And the best part is that it's vegan! They are moist and delicious. I made smaller muffins so I got 24 instead of 12.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: STARFLOWER
Five star, but I made many adjustments: Half whole wheat flour and half white, omitted the white sugar and used 1 cup raw sugar, 3 tsp soda and 3 tsp powder, half the cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp sea salt, no egg replacer, 2 medium bananas, 1 cup unsweetened applecauce, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water (all else the same). Lastly, if you use organic apples, you can grate them with the peel on (they do get soft). 350 for 25 minutes was perfect - they were fantabulous! This makes two dozen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes