My Reviews (50)

Bread Pudding Crumble

This delicious dessert is sort of a cross between bread pudding and apple crumble. It's easy with a ready made pie base.
Reviews (50)


10 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Liesa
This is very good. I used whole wheat bread to add nutrition..and I drizzled my homemade caramel sauce on top after taking it from the oven..family and friends had nothing but nice things to say.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: gwynnetx
i followed the recipe exactly but used about 5 cups of bread cubes, and it made 2 full pies. my husband and i really loved this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: LoreWoody
Delicious! As others said, I needed to use a loaf of bread and some apples before they went bad. I didn't have applesauce, so I added a little milk instead (like regular bread pudding). To keep it healthier, I didn't do the topping or the crust. That way it's more like a breakfast bake that's healthy and filling. I would probably throw in a little salt next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Bev511
This was pretty good, but would probably choose to make plain bread pudding next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: kelsey_sam
This recipe is flawless. I'm a newlywed who pretend she can cook/bake and it was a breeze! I've never made pie or bread pudding and this was easy. My family loved it at Christmas. My only change was that I forgot the oats but it tastes fine without.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: DAWNRX
What a great dessert to make with what is always on hand in the fall-apples! I added a dash of salt to the filling, used 6oz. of vanilla yogurt, 5 slices of whole wheat bread cubed, and 3 small gala apples. Skip the crust, it is unnecessary, just butter a 9x9 pyrex pan. I placed a cookie sheet under my pan in the oven to catch the filling spills. Super recipe and so easy. thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: HongKongKate
Didn't use a crust. Used 3 granny smith apples and 3.5 pieces of whole wheat bread, lightly toasted. Also, added 1/8 tsp allspice as someone suggested. Last, I only used half the sugar, knowing it would be significantly less sweet, but wanting to try it, in hopes of being healthier; an experiment. Results - Not sweet enough for a dessert, alone, but with a little ice cream on top, perfect. You may think that defeats the purpose, but the alternative, full sugar would be much worse! Here's the best part though - can have it for breakfast and not feel guilty at all. I did it w/a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt on top. Excellent texture. Delicious. Might try with chopped toasted walnuts next time or some ground flax to add a contrasting texture. Yummy though, just as it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: DeathValleyQueen
This is one of the best pies I have ever made and I go out of my way to make as many pies as possible. Moist and rich in flavor with no flavor being too overpowering. Goes well with vanilla ice cream. I highly recommend this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Dani
Marvelous, even without the crust. I used fruit and berry rye bread and added a bit of cinnamon to the crumble topping. It turned out to be very similar to a coffee cake. For a drier, firmer texture, I would use only one apple or maybe a bit less yogurt or applesauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: deborw
made this exactly as in the recipe, except baked in a 8x8 metal pan (so no crust). It was great! a bit sweet, so next time I think I will try rhubarb instead, or cut the sugar back some. Stored leftovers in fridge, they kept fine. Good with cool whip or ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes