My Reviews (260)

Mozambican Chicken Curry

This curry recipe is from Mozambique, Africa and can be made with either chicken or prawns. Serve it with chutney for the full effect.
Reviews (260)


09 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: ChrissieD
So yummy. I used coconut flavoured carnation milk to reduce calories and cornflour to thicken up and added more vege. One of my favs.
 
15 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Leanie
Very quick and easy to make. The sauce was very thin but it was still very yummy
 
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: jimbob65
Very easy to cook and very good to eat - I added a finely chopped seeded green chilli and a hand full of crushed nuts (cashew and macadamia)
 
17 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Shineapple
Awesome blend of flavours, very simple and delicious.
 
17 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Davidtimetocook
I add potatos and use a lot more curry powder. Added some coconut cream also.
 
01 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: LarryGoldrick
Delicious recipe. Super easy and quick to prepare.
 
08 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: rachaels72
Nice dish, didn't think it was AMAZING but nice - Probably will make it again
 
16 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: SHC
I cooked this the other night and it was GREAT!! I didnt add the bay leaf, and used coconut cream instead of milk. I only addedd 500gr of free range chicken plus some butternut pumpkin, carrot and broccoli. My hubby and I loved it as too did our 9mth old son who scofffed his!! 2 Thumbs up
 
06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Cheryl Linarelli
I have no need to eat restaurant curry ever again as this recipe is fantastic IF you make some modifications! Before starting to cook, I marinated the cut chicken in a mixture of plain yogurt, tumeric, and pepper to give the chicken a great flavor and prevention against drying out. Once you start the actual dish, add extra onion and a lot of extra garlic (I used 6 cloves) and saute taking care not to burn the garlic. I added a bit more canned tomato than the recipe called for and supplemented with fresh chopped plum tomatoes. Add more curry than the recipe suggests - perhaps 1 Tbsp or more to suit your taste. I was a bit heavy-handed on the salt and it was perfect. The end result will be too bland if you're not. Tasting as you go is your best bet. Prior to adding the coconut I was sure to add a healthy dash of cayenne pepper to give the recipe a kick. I only added 1/2 of the can of coconut milk as any more would have made the dish too soupy. During this stage I also added about 1 Tbsp of light brown sugar and juiced only 1/2 of a large lemon. This dish will amaze YOU as well as your friends and family if modified to your liking. Don't be shy with experimenting with flavors. The next modification will be to add vegetables to the saute.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Carrie H
I thought this tasted really good. It was very silky and creamy. It was not very spicy, which I thought was perfect, but if you like hot curry, you would need to add heat. Since there has been so much discussion on the curry, I looked up a traditional recipe for African curry and used that. Here is the African Curry powder recipe: 1 tablespoon ground cumin 1 tablespoon ground coriander 1 tablespoon ground turmeric 1½ teaspoons ground ginger 1½ teaspoons ground allspice 1½ teaspoons garlic powder ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper ½ teaspoon chili powder
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes