My Reviews (99)

Best Vegetable Stock

After making this stock, don't waste the vegetables that remain in the sieve. They are delicious to eat hot or cold, and can be used for baby food. Also try puréeing the vegetables and adding them to your favourite tomato-based pasta sauce.
Reviews (99)


30 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: CHESSDILORENZO
Loved this! I make lots of risotto, so this is a perfect recipe for me. Also, I purée the leftover vegetables and add them to a spaghetti sauce for later meals.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: trooworld
This is very good, I made it as it was written. Make sure and reduce it down or it will not have much flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: KEEPERROX
After straining, I added 1 can of diced tomatoes, with juice, 1 can dark red kidney beans, and 1 can Cannelini beans, and brought it back to a boil. Then I added 1 cup of Pastina shaped pasta, and cook it for 4 minutes. It made a great hearty vegetarian soup, and I got some protein in there too! Thanks Tom, for this great broth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: SG WEISS
This is an exceptional broth. It is robust and aromatic, and would make a lovely 'faux beef' stock for a vegetarian onion soup. It will be a staple in my household..I'll use it as a consumme as well as an addition to other soups & stews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: KEZ
I roasted the vegetables the night before on a spare shelf in my oven when I was making dinner. Then made the broth the following day. Used as a base for carrot and coriander soup II from this site and froze the remainder in ice cube bags. Will definitely keep this in my freezer full time. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Guanaco
This vegetable broth really lives up to it's name. I made a batch today, and it was by far the BEST broth I've ever tried. It took a little extra time than a normal vegetable broth does to make (due to roasting the vegetables), but the result is so rich in flavor---I can't see myself using my old broth recipe ever again. I can't wait to use this as a base for cooking legumes and rice, as well as a soup base.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: HUSSEL
wonderful flavour and colour. I added hot dried peppers to the simmering stock to add a level of heat to the soup.....a must have
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: TARA ZAPP
My husband and I absolutely loved this soup, we left the vegtables in and it tasted and smelled amazing. Will definatly make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Addie
Making this broth made my apartment smell great! It was great for risotto, when the most important thing is the broth. I made a double batch, reduced it by half, and then froze it in ice cube trays.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This IS the World's Greatest Vegetable Broth. Totally saved my behind this week as I'm low on cash and can't afford boxed/canned organic broth. I did cheat a bit and used two week's worth of trimmings (I throw my trimmings in ziploc bags, then use them in the recipe for the broth later) from vegetables in with a small amount of the called for vegetables to fill in what I needed for the broth and I did use one drained can of organic diced tomatoes only because I could not afford fresh tomatoes. That's a cheap way to really use the most out of the produce you buy and really get a super flavorful broth. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe--this was an absolute lifesaver for me. Next time, I'll try this with a few pieces of chicken wings to get a homemade vegetable-chicken broth. NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU REDUCE YOUR BROTH. That's a key step. Do not skip it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes