My Reviews (15)

Christmas Cake with Fruit Mince

This easy cake uses jarred fruit mince, glace cherries, currants and almonds to create all the flavours of a Christmas pudding in a cake. Easy and delicious.
Reviews (15)


20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: brandi
have made this cake for a few years now and it is fab every time everyone comments on how moist and tasty it is better than a bought christmas cake you wont be let down with this one and oh so easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: silverlady47
this is the best recipe for christmas cake i have ever had,never tasted a nicer one and so moist ,i did tweek it ,i used sultanas instead of currants and left out the nuts ,excellent recipe though and so easy, quick and a lot cheaper
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Wondig
I was reading this recipe and thought - it can't be this easy - Well it is! Why on earth would you spend hours and money on making a Christmas cake the old way when you have this recipe - brilliant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: sui7807
easy great cake tastes gorgeous, made it instead of my usual xmas cake, and not expensive to bake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Ragdale
I decided to take a chance on this recipe, because it had such good reviews. I have to keep to gluten free foods. When I saw that someone had managed to tweek it, and still have good results I decided to try it with gluten free flour, I did add a quarter teasp. of g/free baking powder, to the g/free self raising flour - just to give it a boost with all the sugar and the 'syrup' in the mincemeat. I also swapped sultanas for currants, cut up dried apricots for the cherries, and added about 2 tablespoons of brandy, stirred into the mincemeat, before mixing with the other ingredients. G/free flour can do with a touch extra moisture. Not sure whether it was anything to do with the different flour, but the cake was done in 1hr 20 mins, and is lovely! The best gluten free fruit cake I've ever made in 14 years since having to use this diet!!. I am only gluten 'intolerant',...I'm ok with the miniscule amount there may be in manufactured mincemeat, plus I won't be eating the whole cake! It is for the family too. Note to ceoliacs, It is important, you must use gluten free mincemeat, - flour in manufactured mincemeat may be used on the suet during processing. Watch the labels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Pambo7
I've given this 5 stars as the recipe and reviews read so well. This cake sounds so good! Can anyone tell me if it keeps well or should I wait to make it nearer to Christmas?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: kara11
what an easy, wonderful ans tasty recipe. This will be an annual occurrence from now on. No more mucking around with expensive mixed fruit. Everyone who tasted this cake loved it. So light in colour and texture. Thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Ita
I must admit that it's a great idea to use mincemeat. The cake tastes lovely but was just a little dry and light coloured for my liking. I prefer a dark, moist fruitcake but this was still very enjoyable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: JennieAnderson
Superb recipe. I added extra glace cherries and left out the nuts. All the fruit I put in a saucepan and added a few capfuls of sherry and heated it up and gradually let it cool right down to absorb the sherry and plump up the fruit. It was so moist. I put on homemade royal icing and it made the perfect christmas cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: G.laine
Loved the taste but my oven a bit hot so cooked it at lower temp but top got bit burnt also was a bit dry but think it may have been in oven a bit longer so that may be why it was dry and crumbly. Anyone any ideas?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes