My Reviews (30)

Rich Mushroom Pie

A vegetarian mushroom pie with lots of rich gravy. It's easy to make using frozen puff pastry and you can experiment with the types of mushrooms.
Reviews (30)


14 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Missusmack
Tasty, and went well with some mashed potatoes and other veges to accompany chops. Next time I might use a little less soy sauce or a low salt one.
 
01 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: BrookeYoung
This is a great recipe. I make it for all the holidays as I am cooking for vegetarians too. I add about 1/4 cup basmati rice and a bit of extra stock to the mixture and allow it to simmer 2 minutes longer. I think this makes the dish heartier and more satisfying. Everyone always loves it!
 
24 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: JettJaguar
Even using low-salt soy sauce and less than a 1/4 cup (as Missusmack suggested), all I could taste biting into this pie was salty soy. It really overpowered the flavour of mushrooms, and even seemed to seep into the crust. It was like chewing on a salt lick. My husband enjoyed it, though, so in future I might make one just for him.
 
26 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: bess.gordon46
I just made this pie and can only call it one thing - delicious! Rich flavours with woody mushroom , sweetness of carrots and mouthwatering gravy and pastry too! I have printed this recipe off and will be making it for my next dinner party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Danette
Top notch! Amazing pie... delicious. I added a leek as @ChristineHall said. I've already recommended it to my friends. I will deffo do it again soon. Tks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: meggibby
This appears to be going to taste delicious, but no way would this feed six. It might do two people with smallish appetites!! Are the quantities wrong in the recipe?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 May 2018
Reviewed by: 021997
I loved it, very earthy and tasty. I added a couple cloves of garlic, a bay leaf and celery for added texture and hidden veg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: KatieLB
This is delicious. My partner and I are trying to cut back on eating meat and this is a lovely alternative that we both thoroughly enjoyed. As everyone as said, I would double up ingredients to even feed 4 or 5 people. The above quantities did a portion for each of us and a little left over. I did one less tbsp of soy sauce but if you like it tangier then 4 would be fine. Also used cornflour instead of plain flour, and will be making this again and perhaps adding a few more veg - v keen to try it with some leeks too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: annabanama
Tasty but a bit salty - too much soya sauce maybe. I'll use less next time. And definitely not enough for six portions. I used 3 individual pie dishes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: TracyMorris
Amazingly tasty recipe. I used cornflour rather than flour, as you don't just sprinkle it in liquid as it goes lumpy! Also added a pack of vacuum packed chestnuts - for a meaty texture. I doubled the quantities and made 2 small ones as well as a large one. I also didn't put pastry on the top, but sliced potatoes that I had part cooked in the microwave first. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes