My Reviews (17)

Chocolate Mocha Coffee Cake

A deliciously moist chocolate cake with a hint of coffee that is topped with a buttery white chocolate icing. Great for parties, afternoon tea or dessert.
Reviews (17)


17 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: cookiegirl
delicious! I used a 100g white toblerone for the chocolate topping, very yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: smileysal
I added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of coffee to this after reading the other reviews and used the electric beaters to mix (didn't even sieve the flour) only had an 8x12" oblong tin so i cooked it for 35 minutes, it turned out well risen and was lovely and moist - when it was cool i cut it into squares, split each square and sandwiched it with butter icing
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: freespirits2012
lovely cake i made it round which went down a treat definatly do it aain but with very strong coffee
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: snowbear
Lovely moist sponge, keeps well. Very easy to make. Added more coffee as prefer a stronger flavour. The icing works well with milk or dark chocolate instead of white. A winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 May 2015
Reviewed by: NatalieMcKenna
Nice big cake. Used 4tbsp of coffee but still not strong enough. May use espresso next time. Did use less milk for icing but more icing sugar. Would adjust cooking time down if you have a fan oven. I cooked mine for 35 mins and was quite dry rather than moist. Sure with some adjustments it will ge a great cake next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Worcestershirewalkies
Super yummy cake and so easy to make. The topping was a little runny so did not put the milk in second time. My little boy loves it and said it is one of the best cakes I have made,
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: bexbaker
Have made this several times, it's fantastic and super quick using an electric hand mixer. Prefer it stronger tasting so use 4 tbl instant coffee. Plus the icing was too runny so just use 1 tbl milk.... We call them Tirimisu cake slices because of the topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: MissClairol13
I am in love with this recipe. It is moist, tasty and easy to make. Next time i make this i would add a little extra coffee as i prefer a stronger taste but i am so glad i found this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 May 2012
Reviewed by: Rain17
Lovely cake would definitly make it again but I think will use more coffee .Thanks for sharing this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: twistyvic
The cake itself is lovely! I agree with the other comment that if you like strong coffee, you can add more to taste. I found the icing was a little runny and very sweet, but I think it depends on the type of chocolate you use (i used belgian white choc). Will defo make the cake again, maybe with a buttercream coffee icing though. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes