My Reviews (111)

Festive Christmas Cake

Ideally, make this cake in November to let the flavours mellow before Christmas. It is very good with a marzipan icing.
Reviews (111)


23 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: cookiecruz
Just baking the cake, followed it to the letter, the aroma is wafting throughout the house - will update on the taste and flavour when I finally get to eat it :-) really smells yummy Update: Tasted really good - going to be my recipe for the years to come Thank you !
 
17 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: dac
first time I made a Christmas cake very easy this one and very yummy
 
09 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: cmd
I attempted my 1st christmas cake using this recipe, wow I'm impressed it tasted so rich and moist, awesome flavour... will be using this recipe every year!
 
17 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: JenHorgeousAlexander
This is the recipe I make every year. I make in October and "shozzle" with brandy rum and whiskey for a week or two then store until the day. I don't put a covering of fondant on it. It has received rave reviews from everyone my mother in law dares to allow a taste LOL. This IS the recipe that NEVER fails to please and has put me up on that favourite daughter in law pedestal!
 
16 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: monwill235
Used this recipe last year. The rating is definitely deserved. If you like moist fruit cake you will love this recipe. I used ground almonds in place of the chopped blanched almonds and used sparkling apple juice from my pantry. I mixed the sparkling apple juice in with the brandy soaking stage. This is a recipe you can follow to the letter or mix n match with your favourite ingredients or those that you have to hand. This recipe is a keeper!!
 
04 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: EmmaKillick
This Cake is delicious! Not too rich and the nuts and dates give it a slight caramel twist. I also a Cup of chopped walnuts which helps cut through the fruit taste.
 
14 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: lbottegaro
Ahhh the aroma at 1.00am ..with still another hour to go .... Magnificent ! Now to lace it with more brandy for another month ... Only time will tell ... Bring on Christmas !
 
16 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: zerocook
I cooked this cake for the first time, it smells absolute delicious while cooking. I have wrap it and keeping it for xmas
 
05 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: ABoston
LOVE this cake! I suggest only a couple of modifications, but if you can't make the changes, make this cake anyway because it is a real crowd pleaser. First, use Demerara sugar instead of brown sugar if you can. It's usually found in regular grocery stores, next to the other sugars, and it doesn't cost much more. It's is a light brown sugar that provides a stickier texture and a really rich aroma-- perfect for this cake. Second, marinate the candied fruit in the brandy for as long as you can. You really want the fruit to be plump. Third, follow the directions for a long baking time in low heat. Don't try to speed things up by increasing the temperature (like I once did...)! Fourth, top with Royal Icing-- there are some very good recipes for it on this website. Royal Icing is a bit tricky to work with, but it's worth the effort!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MACLEOD26
I've been making fruitcakes for several years, dutifully wrapping them in liquor-soaked cheesecloth which I refreshed on a regular basis. Well, all I can say is 'Thank you Carol! I'll never soak a fruitcake again!' This is the most moist, delicious fruitcake I've ever eaten. No need to wrap in cheesecloth. I do recommend letting it 'mellow'. I soaked my fruit for a full 24 hrs. rather than overnight. I also mixed some dark rum in with the brandy. Being allergic to nuts, I omitted them and slightly increased my fruits. I baked in a tube pan, too. Anyway, the yummiest fruitcake around and it will make a believer out of the most vocal critic. >>>>>>>>>>>December 2010 update: Used Grand Marnier to soak the fruit this year and Muscovado sugar. Increased my dates to abt. 1.5 cups. Didn't think it was possible, but even yummier this year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes