My Reviews (103)

Chocolate Ganache for Cakes

If you are a chocolate lover this is the perfect recipe for you. The ganache is rich and is perfectly matched with the touch of brandy.
Reviews (103)


21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: mermaid8mermaid
i advise to let his cool and thicken for a long time before icing your cake...it had cooled and thickened before i put it on the cake, but not long enough apparently...i had a chocolate disaster in the kitchen, it ran off the sides of the cake onto the plate and then the bench, it was everywhere and all over me!!! let it get really thick before you attempt to spread it on the cake... this is one of the yummiest icings i have ever had!! i omitted the brandy
 
12 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Paperhorse
Disaster! Did not set at all, I would not add better to a ganache again. Not even 3 cups of icing could thicken this flop!
 
Comment:
07 Aug 2010
My kitchen is ruined. i made buttercream icing added blue dye and i ended up with blue metallic gunk!!! then when i made this it tasted funny and i found out that the cream was off!!! :S so my cupcakes are ruined! and so is my kitchen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2010
Altered ingredient amounts. i substituted milk chocolate for dark
 
Comment:
01 Oct 2009
sam7778 said:
This would be a great icing for my Little Cakes. I guess if you wanted you could use it for all sorts of muffins and cakes. Fantastic!
 
16 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: sadie
Excellent! The only change I made was to add 2 Tbsp. corn syrup to the ganache after I removed it from the heat. The frosting was creamy, smooth, and shiny...just what I was looking for. When it's chilled it tastes like the filling in a truffle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2007
Reviewed by: Bella J.
How wicked is this!! melted chocolate in microwave, then added butter and cream last. Used freshly brewed coffee with teaspoon of sugar to balance the bitterness instead of alcohol. I bought dark chocolate with 70% coco content. Very easy to do...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2004
Reviewed by: ASHLYNNS MOMMY
DELICIOUS rich and chocolately, and sooo easy to make! I made mine w/o the brandy as it was for a cake for my mom, and she hates alcohol. Still tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: BreeAnn
I love this recipe, I used milk chocolate instead and omitted the brandy and used them on my fauxstess cupcakes. Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2007
Reviewed by: Gwen
Excellent consistency. I do not like bittersweet chocolate so I used semisweet because my husband likes the semi. Not a fan of semisweet either. It was ok for me but he loved it. Next time I'm going to use Milk Chocolate for a sweeter flavor. I did not use the liquor as I do not like that flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes