My Reviews (15)

Fish Batter with dark beer

This fish batter made with dark beer - like stout or Toohey's Old - is perfect for all kinds of fish!
Reviews (15)


18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Suggahbean
Very Good! I was skeptical about the Cinnamon and actually only put a dab then added the whole 1/2 tsp. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
This was pretty good but hubby didn't care for the cinnamon. I did dust the fish with flour before dipping it in the batter just to make sure the batter stuck to the fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: feb9kitty
This was delicious! Very simple and easy. Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: BobiShort
Great recipe and worked fantastic on the pan fish my husband brings home from ice fishing. I did omit the cinnamon though and added some lemon juice instead. Terrific batter, everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: roger
I love cooking with beer. The first time I made this recipe I was cooking with whisky and well, I passed out before I got the fish out of the box. I was able to delete the batter ingredients by going with Mrs. Pauls fish sticks. Gortons will work just as well. I tripled the beer and that was just about right as I was opening the last one just as the buzzer on the oven sounded.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Pnina Loifer
This was insanely delicious! My children gobbled it up and didn't leave a single crumb. As did I. I used regular beer that I had on hand and fried it in my frying pan with lots of oil, didnt completely deep fry, but it was super duper crispy. I also only used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, will try it with the full amount next time. I used tilapia fillets, but I'm sure this can be done with any white fish fillets you have around. This will be on regular circulation in my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Sanfranfan1994
Great and simple recipe, liked the cinnamon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: GRANDMAMOO
this is almost like the batter at our favorite restaurant. Used it for our home grown zucchini strips too. YUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: day
This is how I will be frying fish from now on. Love the taste, cinnamon worked and did not make it sweet by any means. The cinnamon gives a wider range of flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Jim
1table cimmonin,1 table spoon, curry, onion powder,baking powder
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes