My Reviews (19)

Easy Puff Pastry

Puff pastry doesn't have to be hard to make. This recipe is not as complex as professional pastry and so won't puff quite as high.
Reviews (19)


02 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: aijiesi
Beautiful recipe. I rolled it out a total of four times, and it puffed up perfectly for both a galette and some palmiers. I will certainly use this shortcut method again - making the real stuff is just too much! The recipe is right - the dough looks terrible during the first roll but it comes together very well by the second or third rolling. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: ibabaker
This stuff is awesome!! I'm now "Queen" of the kitchen says my family. They say I should open a shop and sell this!! I did use all the advice & tips from the chef Frances Crouter. She's a gem!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: CRASH5456
It's a nice pastry, I believe even doing more folds and rolling would make it even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Marianne
I did have a little difficulty with this pastry, and I ended up rolling it between two sheets of parchment paper (I make the bottom sheet longer so I can hold it with my hip while I roll). But the end result was very nice. I would love to watch Frances make it so mine would look like the photo! I will try again and use the pastry for cinnamon crispies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Nicole
Thanks for posting this recipe, I misplaced the copy I received in culinary school. I hate the ingredients in the store bought stuff, and this method of making puff pastry is great for making at home! I'm planning on using it for a roasted tomato tart with cheve! Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: recipes need gluten
great recipe, I will make again. Next time I will leave out 1T of sugar and sprinkle it on top, held apples/sauce very well
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: monjfr
it was good ,and as the submitter mentioned it doesn`t puff high but I still have enough layers in m pastry. I used AP flour , for the bread flour I used the same mount of AP flour + 1 TBS wheat gluten, and for the cake flour I used 1 1/4 cup sifted AP flour. I hade to make mre folding and rolling coz the butter was still visible after step 3.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: The Purple Baker
This worked perfectly! I was worried I didn't roll it out right (the rotations confused me), but it was great. Even the scraps worked well in the oven! I used this recipe for bear claws. I think I left the dough too thick when I baked it, because I didn't get as many as I expected. Also, I rolled the dough out on wax paper. This really helped when I had to fold the dough the first few times (it would have just fallen apart).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2010
Reviewed by: teeamaria
this pastry recipe was absolutly amazing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Avilsta
Nice, even though I'm sure I didn't make it the way that it should have been Since I pressed in the butter in rather then having long strips, used it to make small apple pies/strudels
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes