My Reviews (47)

Slow Cooked Beef Topside

This recipe makes a delightfully fragrant and tender topside roast. Serve with sides of mashed potatoes and the roasted vegetables.
Reviews (47)


05 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Friedbear
Fantastic! Pulled apart with a fork. I used a 1kg piece; decreased temp to 140C for 2 hours, added carrot & celery, roasted for another hour. Delicious!
 
20 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: imnohomebaker
. Nice easy recipe, thanks. Unfortunately my beef did not turn out meltingly tender despite following your times and ingredients; not too tough but not that tender. Smelt delicious though and made gorgeous gravy from the juices with a little extra flour and bisto gravy granules. The veges cooked with the beef needed a little longer in the oven on their own on a baking tray to dry out. Served with extra green veg and mashed potato, a delicious autumn/ winter Sunday roast.
 
03 May 2014
Reviewed by: lilabear
Turned out well. Only used 1.5kg piece and cooked for about 4hours and it was melt in your mouth. Just need to make sure the meat feels like it's going to pull a part. Served with polenta and spinach. Lovely.
 
16 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa VA
What a great find! I used the crock pot option, taking 7 hours on low. I was missing a few items, so took a chance and replaced merlot with cabernet, and basalmic with red wine vinegar. (In other words, any red wine and vinegar works.) I also added about an eighth a cup of brown sugar. Sorry for obliterating the recipe, but my family really liked it. It was a bit too sweet after a full serving for my 9 year old, so a full 5 stars to you (since I was the one who added the sugar). On top of garlic mashed potatoes, a winner! We will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Vickie
It worked great--I skipped marinating it and just tossed all the ingredients into a slow cooker for 6 hours on high (or even 7). Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: nell_oc
This was very good! I did it in the crock pot and we loved it. I'll be sad when the leftovers are gone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Roberta
We've been wanting to try a beef brisket for a long time. It was right around New Years and it didn't make sense to try a BBQ recipe so we tried this one. I'm not a vegetable eater, but the sauce made all the veggies taste great and my boyfriend and I were fighting over them. The second time we did it we added potatos! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Emily Tisdale
Great new recipe...however I thought the balsamic came through a little too strong but my hubby, who hates vinegar of all types, loved it. Very tender and sliced beautifully. Will definitely make again, with a reduction in the balsamic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: chefsazy
My whole family enjoyed this with mashed potatoes. I threw in a few extra carrots because we just love them. Thanks for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Rwexler
A knock-out! My family gobbled this up like there was no tomorrow, and they're not big beef eaters!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes