My Reviews (63)

Kokub's Green Mango Chutney from Pakistan

We live in Saudi Arabia and my neighbor, Kokub who is from Pakistan makes the most amazing mango chutney. A few years ago she invited me to help her. Of course, she doesn't use a recipe, so the NEXT time I went over with my measuring cups and scale so I could recreate her magic on my own. What an incredible experience!
Reviews (63)


Comment:
17 Feb 2009
Altered ingredient amounts. Thanks for this recipe. Mangos weren't entirely green, but worked out great anyway. Flavor fantastic.Included vinegar in main cooking time. I presume you take the cinnamon stick out and cloves before bottling. Great over cold lamb or chicken
 
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ceraebird
I love chutney and I love mangoes. This recipe combines the two into a hot and spicy taste sensation! I added the vinegar and pepper at the beginning of the cooking as other users had suggested this technique. It worked out brilliantly.
 
Comment:
21 Mar 2009
apricotnelli said:
Something else. Hi Dollydaughter In general its not a good idea when making chutney to add the vinegar at the same time as the sugar. This will mean usually a chunkier consistency as you lose the slow cooking time and also makes the mixture more inclined to burn or catch. However as the mangos are inclined to disintegrate easily in this case it is probably no harm. I take out the cinnamon stick. Ok to leave cloves in !!
 
29 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: J14acy
Made this loads of time and just love it. Give my other kinds of chutney to people but not this one I keep it for myself. Other mango chutneys are not as nice.
 
11 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: LesleyL
I have been trying different mango chutneys lately as we have two trees. This is a nice, very easy recipe. I did everything as per recipe except I cut down on the vinegar as there was a lot of liquid from the mangos. May have been a bit heavy handed with our home grown chillies, but my husband liked that! Good recipe, thanks
 
02 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: mavlianc
I followed this recipe exactly and was very disappointed with the result. Everyone who tried it thought it had a very vinegary taste that was quite unpleasant. I am going to use it as a guide only and reduce the vinegar and tweak the spices as well.
 
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: apricotnelli
I made this recipe truly delicious.I was donated the unripe mangoes by my local organic veg box place as were not ripening. www.homeorganics.ie I followed it more or less exactly and am delighted with the results .. thanks Margaret
 
03 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Helen2017
I was just wondering why you cool it before putting it into sterilized jars ?? I thought it would have to be hot to seal properly? ?
 
13 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: pinkypink
Yum! This one is GOOD and EASY to make. I misread the recipe and added the vinegar to the mango batch. I decided not to let it sit overnight and I just cooked it on low for about an hour till it thickened. I left it in the back of the fridge for a couple of days. It doesn't have that golden colour (that was probably because I didn't properly caramelize the sugar) but it tastes great. Very mild even though I doubled the chili. I will make this again as it satisfied my craving for mango chutney. Oh and I made the garlic ginger paste by putting the ingredients into a small food processor instead. Thanks! Update: 2 weeks later and the flavours are amazing!!!! I'm literally eating this out of a jar with a spoon. The only problem with this recipe is the whole spices obviously aren't edible. However they are essential as they make the chutney taste so good! I'd suggest serving it in a separate bowl and picking out the spices before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2008
Reviewed by: mks9
Finally found the perfect recipe for chutney we can use on everything! Thank you! Couple of questions: it takes me forever to make the ginger/garlic to form a smooth paste using a pestle and mortar - any suggestions? Also, I have cardamom pods...but I cannot find just the seeds. Can I just break open the pods and use those seeds? I have been using cardamom powder...it must be all right because it tastes great! Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes