My Reviews (37)

Honeydew Salad with Cilantro

This fruit salad is not only delicious but a delight to look at, with all the different greens of the melon, mint and cilantro. Perfect for summer or a side for barbecue fish.
Reviews (37)


12 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: makeitfresh
I was taking this to a BBQ. The honeydew melon that I bought was flavorless and when I first combined the ingredients it didn't taste good. I refrigerated it anyway and took it to the BBQ. It got rave reviews. Tastes like a Mojito. The melon marinated and soaked up all of the flavors from the lime juice, cilantro and mint. The melon was not flavorless after all. A big hit. Everyone wanted the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: JKSTAR1
I was sceptical about this combintion. I was afraid the herbs would be odd simply chopped (chucnks of cilantro and mint). IT IS AWESOME!!!! I just started a low fat/calorie diet and am trying to incorporate more fresh fruit. I cannot say enough about this recipe - it is excellent. My husband even liked it and he is pretty old fashioned (meat and potatos kind of man). He said it tasted exotic. The only things I changed were I used Equal instead of sugar and I used papaya in addition to the honeydew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Nathanial Austin
This is a great flavor combo, the Cilantro, Lime and Mint bring out the flavors of the fresh fruit. I didn't feel Honey Dew was enough color so I also added Cantaloupe, Strawberries, Blueberries, and Pineapple... Great Snack.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Athena
I doubled the recipe, which made the melon too tall to really sit in the lime juice, which is crucial! No matter how much you toss, it's not the same. I used maybe 5T lime (one big lime), and I still could have used more. I think muddling might help the lime/cilantro flavors, but you cannot scrimp on marinating time. 24 hours had it at its best. I used honeydew and cantaloupe, but I think I'd prefer the honeydew alone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: danasweets
Very refreshing! I added strawberries and didn't change a thing otherwise. I made it for a bbq my husband and I were having and we didn't have leftovers. Made it again for brunch with the same result. Thanks for the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2009
Reviewed by: sewoverdrawn
Sounded funky, but awesome combo, added cantaloupe and strawberries for my big family. we loved it, thanks!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Ritak96
This was excellent, light and easy. Instead of sugar, I used honey and a little bit of jalapeno jelly. It was very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: SilverGreenOwl
Very yummy! I added cantaloupe chunks and blueberries. It was very good but the lime, cilantro, and mint go really, really well with the honeydew. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: J. Mtz.
This was wonderfully delicious. It tasted so fresh. To help you out a bit with the measurements, I used 3/4 of the melon to make the 4 cups, 1 lime for the 1 tablespoon of juice, and 1 full package of fresh mint for the 1/3 cup. I also added about 1/2 package of sliced fresh strawberries that were sweet enough so that the "white sugar to taste" was not even needed. If you do add strawberries, it will turn the melon slightly red on the edges so you might want to add them when about to serve. I will most definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Jane Worley
Excellent. I get raves from everyone who tried it. Made it as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes