My Reviews (21)

White Chocolate Sour Cream Icing

A simple and easy icing to do when you have a bunch of cupcakes to decorate or when you have children over for a party and you like them to decorate their cupcakes themselves. You can also melt the chocolate in the microwave.
Reviews (21)


05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: philippa
LOVED this icing on chocolate cake to make it a special occasion cake. Almost like cream cheese icing, but nicer. Used low fat sour cream and cooking grade white chocolate and these worked fine. Suppose would be even more amazing with top quality white chocolate.
 
07 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: FrackFamily5
This icing gets a 5 for ease and taste. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and once melted added the sour cream- SO EASY!! Love this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Sean Esher England
Gorgeous, very tasty. I used belgian white chocolate....quite sweet and waited for chocolate to cool in a cold water bath then electric whisked the sour cream in. It goes very stiff due to the cold cream then becomes lovely. If you add the cold cream to warm chocolate i imagine it will split, so let the choc cool.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: RADSITT
I must have missed something. Sour cream and white chocolate and nothing else? I won't be making this one again. I thought I followed the recipe to the "T" but the instant I added the sour cream (to the well cooled white chocolate), it instantly clumped. No amount of beating in my electric mixer would have smoothed this out. I had to add powdered sugar to salvage the frosting. Still, it's not the way I expected frosting to taste. I added a pinch of salt to insure it wasn't overly sweet when I added the powdered sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: djo
It went really well with Aini's Strawberry Cupcakes. I used about 150 grams of white Fazer baking chocolate, and a bit less than 100 grams of Creme Fraiche. To speed cooling, I floated the glass bowl with the hot chocolate in a pot of ice water and continued stirring until almost set. The creme fraiche/choc mixture was a bit lumpy at first, but after stirring turned a beautiful consistency, perfect for cakes or cupcakes. super, super sweet taste, but I guess that depends on your brand of chocolate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: valentinebebe2
In baking and cooking, when you are attempting to combine warmed melted solids with cool non-solids (or cool non-solids that will become solid when mixed with warmed non-solids), and you would like to have the result of a creamy non-clumpy substance, you need to take the time to introduce the two ingredients slowly. It also helps if you also get your cool substance to or close to room temperature. Therefore with this recipe, I measured out my sour cream and set it aside to become room temperature. Then I melted the white chocolate chips and stirred them with a fork to a cooler state. When I felt that they were at the correct temperature but not again solid chocolate, I drizzled the white chocolate into the sour cream while I was mixing on low speed. Once they were creamed together I turned up the speed to high to make the mixture thicken. As with any cream based product, the more you mix it the thicker it will become but you must be careful you do not over beat. This recipe is more of an icing than a frosting in my opinion. Therefore I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and a tablespoon of pure vanilla extract. Add additional powdered sugar ¼ cup at a time until your desired thickness. My addition to this recipe made the mixture more like a frosting for my taste and it retained the white chocolate flavor due to the additional vanilla. So no problems with this recipe. It turned out excellent!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: fondukes
This did not get thick enough, which made me sad because the taste was really good and would have went well with my chocolate cake with raspberry filling
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Lindsay Brama
This recipe was great - really tasty and easy - I added icing sugar to make it thicker - I found it kind of runny and it kept sliding off the cake, but all in all really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2011
Reviewed by: Sydneysider
Used good quality white chocolate, melted in the microwave. Put sour cream in a larger bowl and used electric beaters to whip for half a minute then slowly drizzled in the cooled chocolate. No lumps, and a light whipped texture. Beautiful flavour, not too sweet - perfect to top the white chocolate mud cake I made. Many thanks for the easiest "gourmet" frosting recipe ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Cristina
This was super easy and totally fabulous. Abolutely no need to add any powered sugar to this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes