My Reviews (14)

Buckwheat Simmered with Bacon

If you don't like rice, try this recipe with which pairs buckwheat with bacon. It's a hearty, meaty side dish that goes with anything.
Reviews (14)


08 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: DawnT77
I used 5 strips of turkey bacon, extra garlic from a jar, 1/2 cup buckwheat and 1 1/2 cups very low sodium organic chicken broth. I left out the parsley and shallots, but added plenty of green onions. The cooking time was still perfect and my husband loved this! Thanks for the new buckwheat recipe (there are not too many off them around)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: yurymetelski
I love buckwheat but I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I would recommend adding onion (separately cooked till golden) in the end, because otherwise it becomes mushy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Debi
This recipe rocks!! We are new to the gluten-free thing and this dish was the perfect intro. I had to double the recipe to feed my two pre-teen boys
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: MEDFORD63
I accidentally used bulgur instead of buckwheat, but it still tasted delicious. This recipe doesn't make much -- I ate the whole thing for lunch (which is good for me because I'm the only one in the house who'll eat it). I didn't add salt because the bacon and chicken stock had plenty, and I used way more parsley for personal preference. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: emilyjane928
The bacon is so good! Doesn't make a whole lot by our American standards, but this could be a main dish for 2 people. Careful about wolfing this down too fast... the buckwheat is SOOOO filling, you could get a tummy ache! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: gella
Really good!!! As much as my husband dislike buckwheat, even he admitted that this one is good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: rmreevesolis
this is pretty good. Definitely a savory side dish. I will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: barrannie
so so
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Dale&Laura
LOVE IT! makes buckwheat very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: rosyshell
I had this last night with dinner and loved it! I think with a few more veggies this could be a main dish rather than a side, but would be more like 1 serving than 2. I used 4 pieces of turkey bacon, and added about a cup of diced baby carrots to the onions while I caramelized them a bit. I had to use onion rather than shallots, since that's what I had, then I totally forgot to add either parsley or pepper at the end and this was still delicious. My husband doesn't like the earthy/strong flavor of buckwheat, but I thought it was great, and it didn't spike my blood sugar levels like a lot of "grainy" things can. (Yes, I know this is a seed...) I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes