My Reviews (23)

Banana Ice Cream with Walnuts

Walnuts are the perfect complement to a rich and creamy banana ice cream made in the ice cream machine.
Reviews (23)


02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: thebakedbaker
made this without the walnuts and put in a swirl of peanut butter and added some dark chocolate chunks. delicious! just like the ice cream i used to love but got discontinued!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: HeatherC8
Great banana ice cream!!! Good base flavor for all kinds of stir-ins. Halved the recipe and added an extra half a banana, and a dash of vanilla. Will make this all the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: TheBritishBaker
I had some half and half that needed using up, so hunting through AR I came across this recipe. I have not made ice cream for a long time, so I followed the recipe exactly, other than halving all ingredients to fit in my 1.5 quart ice cream maker (it fitted in perfectly). I did add just over a teaspoon of Banana extract. I chopped up the walnut's slightly. I just loved the taste of this ice cream, perfect. This really will become a summer favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: RALWATTAR
Absolutely amazing ice-cream! I followed the recipe exactly, but mixed in added chopped brownies at the end. I made another batch but mixed in chopped graham crackers at the end...both variations were great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Atieh
The mixture of banana and walnut was fantastic. Everything was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Mary Smith
Excellent!! New family fav!! Used all half+half and a little extra banana.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: avsgirl301
This came out great for me. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I came up short on the heavy cream and had to use about 1/4 cup more half n half instead. My consistency was perfect and it had great banana flavor. We ate some right out of the ice cream maker that night, and it was good, but it was even better the next day. I will definitely make this again. Very easy and very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Libbilu
Perhaps the best ice-cream ever. I did change to 1/2 and 1/2 for all the dairy as I don't think the extra fat in heavy cream was necessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Kittycormier
Very good! I don't like the texture of bananas but since they were puréed it made a nice consistency. The ice cream came out creamy and not hard. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added dark chocolate chunks and mini marshmallows. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2018
Reviewed by: Grandmas' Kitchen
I have been making homemade ice cream for over 30 years and at last have found a recipe that is versatile and absolutely ravishing. I'll be the first to admit that there are a few steps you must take to reach the end result, but are well worth the time. I have made vanilla, banana and strawberry all 3 turned out just fine. (Make the custard the day before to save time.) "If" you have any left overs, you will be please to know that the smooth creamy texture never breaks down. I tested the banana by placing a small cup in the deep freeze for a week and it was just as delicious as on day one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes