My Reviews (23)

Banana Ice Cream with Walnuts

Walnuts are the perfect complement to a rich and creamy banana ice cream made in the ice cream machine.
Reviews (23)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Wonderfully creamy with a delightfully fresh banana taste--nothing beats ice cream with a cooked custard as its base. I scaled this down for my Cuisinart ice cream maker, using the ratio I like of 2 cups cream to 1 cup half and half. I prepared the custard as the recipe directs (be careful not to let it boil!), strained the mixture through a fine mesh strainer, then chilled it in an ice bath. When the mixture was cool I added the last cup of cream and the banana--didn't bother blending the two in the blender--then chilled it for several hours in the refrigerator. Finally, once the ice cream was churned, I turned it out into a large chilled bowl and stirred in the chopped walnuts as well as a good cup of chocolate fudge brownie chunks. I served this to four adults,and this was so good they all went back for second helpings, surrounding the ice cream container like kids!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: cawoo
The recipe is another great way to use up ripe bananas that are sitting around in the kitchen. Beats making banana bread every time the bananas go too ripe. My family loved the recipe, but since they have a sweet tooth, I added dark chocolate chips and marsh mallows to the mixture before freezing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Rachel Dault
The banana custard flavor of this ice cream is awesome, but I didn't like the consistency that I ended up with. I usually make my ice cream without eggs and it ends up smoother. This one seemed kind of icey.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Miss Dusty
Oh my goodness this is wonderful!!! I'm in heaven! This ice cream was easy & quick to make (quick once it got into the ice cream machine, at least!) - worth the wait for the original mixture to cool off. It's creamy and definitely banana-y. I had to make a couple of adjustments just because of my fridge contents - I only used 7 egg yolks, instead of the 8 called for, and I put in an extra banana. It's GOOD!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
This is an amazingly delicious ice cream. I made it exactly as written, but didn`t have an ice cream maker, so just put the custard in the freezer. The banana flavor is so rich, the texture is very creamy, nuts give an extra kick, although the ice cream will be delicious without nuts too. This is one of the most delicious ice cream recipes I`ve tried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Merrilee
Didn't change a thing... Well, I added just a little more banana. And IT WAS AMAZING!!! Definately a keeper! Thank you so very very much for sharing such a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: library_fairy
VERY good ice cream! we leave out the walnuts, and sometimes add chocolate chips...always turns out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: cdroush
Incredible! This was my first attempt at making ice cream. If I hadn't seen it come out of the ice cream maker I never would have guessed it was homemade. Wonderfully creamy! Certainly an indulgence food that I will need to limit to special occasions though
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: SUMMERESQUE
This recipe is perfect. Nice and smooth and creamy. To enhance flavor and crispness I simply toasted the walnuts before adding. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Melissa
My only regret is that my ice cram maker only makes a quart at a time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes