My Reviews (49)

Lentil Loaf

This is an alternative to nut loaf for a vegetarian meatloaf. Serve with garlic mashed potatoes and onion gravy for a comforting meal.
Reviews (49)


30 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: 2busycooking
My husband and I "mmmm'd" our way through each bite. YUM! I made a few changes because of what I had on hand: oat flour instead of flax meal, wheat bran instead of germ. I also used veg. broth when cooking lentils and added 1 Tbsp. vegetarian Worcestershire to the lentils while they were in the food processor. Put mix of tomato paste and ketchup on top, covered with foil and baked for 45 mins, uncovered for 10 and it was great! (Not too dry, not too mushy.) This was my first time making vegetarian meatloaf and it was the best my husband and I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: RachelS
I cooked this recipe according to the directions and it came out fine, not too mushy or dry. I followed suggestions from the previous reviewers and topped it with tomato paste and ketchup. This recipe was pretty good, but I didn't like the thyme. The thyme flavour really overwhelmed the whole recipe. I think this one might be better if it went in a more Indian direction, using cumin and coriander instead of the thyme. I'll definitely alter the spices if I make it again, but I did like the lentil/flax/wheat germ/veggie aspects of the dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: mtired
my meat-a-tarian husband LOVED this! but i had to cook it twice as long for it to 'set'. next time i plan to add a little tomato paste to the top, cover with foil, and cook appx 2 hours. delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: agent of good change
I made some alterations. For the person that asked about dryness, you can add 1 tin of light coconut milk. Roland is the brand that I buy in the supermarket. I sprouted the lentils for2 days in advance. I put them in a glass bowl, cover them with water and I left them in a cupboard, a warm place and they sprouted. They become more protein than and they digest better. I crushed them into puree raw, with out cooking. I did not want to lose the nutrients. I also added mushrooms, celery, and broth. I did not use the flaxseeds. I followed a suggestion and I used barley flour and wheat bran instead. I also added 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese, and 1/2 cup of dried sun tomatoes, and the egg whites. I also added 1/4 of chopped jalapenos pepper, sea salt and ground black pepper. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Ashley
Excellent "meatloaf!" I took some of the below suggestions and put a mixture of tomato paste/ketchup on top of the loaf before I put it in the oven. Then I baked it, covered in foil, for 45 minutes. After that, I uncovered it and baked it for another 20 minutes. Next time I think I will add a little more onions!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: aura_bryt
so i did the whole bag of lentels, two carrots (about half a lb) a whole green bell pepper, whole med/large red onion, and coupple hand fulls flax seed and zatarans jyumblya mix (we just happened to have on hand) rather than great the carrots i rough chopped everything then threw it in the processor and plused in my lentils. while my rice was cooking. once everything is mixed i foled in the rice to avoid turning it to mush then used my icecream scoop to do 'muffins' of it baked them and they rock!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Robyn Cotter
OUTSTANDING!! we loved this so much, it's destined to be one of our staple meals. I got all wacky with Indian spices. I commandeered the leftovers for lunch the next day. Looove it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: LizNix
This turned out really great. I took other reviewers' advice and put some tomato paste on top . I also added worsteshire sauce and dijon mustard to the lentils. We don't like spicy food so instead of thyme and cayenne pepper I added Cavender's Greek seasoning (which is what I used to put on grilled meat for my husband). He liked it a lot, but does not want to call it meatloaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Roxybc
This was my first ever attempt at making a homemade veggie "meat" meal. I've only been eating a vegetarian diet for about 2 weeks now, and as long as I can eat stuff like this I think I will be just fine. This recipe is excellent and very tasty, even for someone who is used to eating meat. It even has a meat like texture once cooked! I followed the recipe, but pureed the onion (I don't like onion chunks)and also added in some Portugese seasoning in addition to the other seasinings required. I followed the recomendations by others and baked the loaf covered in foil for 45 mins, and then uncovered it and poured a mixture of ketchup and tomato sauce sprinkled with parsley on top and then baked for another 30 mins. It tastes great and the recipe made a lot way to much to fit into a standard size UK loaf pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Amanda M.
This was okay, definitely tasts healthy. Also, this dish is VERY high in fiber- watch out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes