My Reviews (71)

Flambeed Steak Diane

You can make this restaurant classic at home with no trouble. Sirloin is fried with a creamy onion, mustard and mushroom sauce.
Reviews (71)


20 May 2012
Reviewed by: donandgina
 
16 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Scar
What else can you use instead of brandy??
 
06 May 2011
Reviewed by: Harriet Green
I was skeptical about cooking this dish with the recipe calling for so many unmatched ingredients, but I did and presented it to my family as a steak recipe. It is edible and all of us finished but left most of the sauce on our plates. I certainly don't want to dicourage others from using this recipe so I am giving it a three. For those who wish a Steak Diane ( named after the Roman "hunter" goddess), use filet mignon rubbed with garlic and crushed black peppercorns and fried quickly, very quickly, in butter; deglazethe pan juices with more butter, finely chopped shallots, heavy creme, beef stock and if desired, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, and flambeed with brandy. The sauce is then poured over the steak prior to serving. I serve pommes frites and pea pods to accompany. Bon Appetite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2011
Reviewed by: Mary Shawhan
After preparing and eating this for the first time, my husband told me this was the best steak he had ever had. Considering that we are competitive cooks and live in a part of the country that is known for its steaks, that is quite a statement. One recommendation: the recipe calls for "steak sauce"....make sure it is one that you really like because the steak sauce provides a lot of flavor to this the cream sauce. I didn't use a steak "sauce" at all....I used my favorite steak marinade: Allegro Original Marinade. Also 1/2 cup of Dijon mustard seems like a lot, so just eyeball it and slather it on to each side of the steak so that it coats each side evenly...like spreading mustard on a sandwich. I probably used between 1/4 to 1/2 to coat all four sides.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2007
I made this for my husband and mother-in-law they loved it! I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I didn't like about it was the meat did start to get tough when you put it back into the pan with the mushrooms and sauce. It really only needs to be in there for about 30 seconds. I also had my butcher tenderize the steaks. There was a lot of the sauce left over next time we will have mash potatoes instead of wild rice. It is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: OODLES_OR
DH is rating this a 5 star recipe. He absolutely loved it. All I kept hearing was mm, mm, mm. I rarely eat beef but I did have a few bites and it was quite delicious. I think I will cut back on the mustard just a bit next time. Otherwise, I made it exactly as stated. Thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Good EatNZ
Absolutely delicious and very elegant. Fine dining at home! Next time, I will cook the onions a bit longer -- they were not quite soft enough. Note that I said, 'Next time,' and it will be soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Gayle Sieler
I am so impressed with this recipe. Its better than what I've tasted at 5 star restaurants. I didn't use the brandy or ignite the sauce, but I don't think you need to. Excellent!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Autumn
Everytime I've made this it's been a hit. There is definately a lot of sauce left over, so I always make mashed potatoes with it and use the sauce as a gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BOYCEGIRL
This recipe was ok. Just way way to much mustard for us. I would use less then half of what it calls for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes