My Reviews (100)

Basic Victoria Sponge Cake

This is the classic English style sponge cake sometimes call the Victoria Sponge. You can decorate it or jazz it up any way you like, especially with fruit and whipped cream.
Reviews (100)


01 May 2010
Reviewed by: Bellazeus
For some reason mine came out flat as a pancake.. Still tastes alright tho!!
 
26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: gborogirl
I made this cake for the international festival and I cant cook or bake to save my life but this cake actually came out great! out of all the dishes there this one was the talk of the room and everyone enjoyed it. Granted it did take extra time to bake compared to how much time the recipe requires and it did get a little difficult when the top started to slide a little. Overall, adding strawberries in the middle and whipped cream with a circular design of strawberries sliced on top made it look very professional. It is an easy cake to bake even for someone like myself and its very tasty and I highly recommend it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2010
Reviewed by: irishlass
I am sorry this is not a good recipe for Victoria Sponge. The consistency is correct but it is much to greasy and tastes of nothing but butter. I lived in Ireland and this is a popular sponge there. I wouldn't serve this to anyone familiar with a true Victoria Sponge.Sorry, I hate leaving bad ratings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: EILISH40
This is a good recipe for a butter type cake (nice and rich), but I would not call it a spongecake. A true spongecake is made without butter and very, very light. A typical English treat usually filled with jam and topped with cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jacanty
Whatever this is it most definitely isn't a Victoria Sponge Cake! Far too much butter and shouldn't need any milk. For an easy All-in-one recipe, weigh your eggs then add the equivalent of self raising flour, soft margarine and sugar (not icing sugar!) plus half to one teaspoon of baking powder, depending on whether you are using 2 eggs or 4. Bake at 180c or 160c fan for about 25-30 mins. Test for 'springiness' by touching the top, when it will be done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: kalai
This was my first victoria cake ...It turned out wonderful..only thing is i used 1/4 quarter cup of butter..used the same measurement for other ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Shirran T.
I made this for my fiance the other night and was received well! Easy to make and it tastes good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: racrob
Absolutely awful,sunk as soon as i took it out of the oven,way too fatty had one taste and threw it in the bin.Then made my own traditional method,worked out tons better.would not recommend sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Diana Moutsopoulos
This cake was absolutely delicious. I layered it with whipped cream and strawberries for a classic treat. The flavour was just right and texture deliciously moist. Makes a perfect Victoria Sandwich!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: rossco76
RUBBISH !!!! Cooking time, wrong. Too much fat, temp too hot. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RECIPE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes