My Reviews (16)

Spaetzle and Sauerkraut

Spaetzle are short German noodles usually made with a spaetzle press, although a large-holed colander will work as well.
Reviews (16)


22 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: ANDRIJANE
Better to fry sauerkraut with chopped onion in some butter till all starts browning, also sprinkle bacon bits on top of all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: KATHRYNF1
This was okay when I served it for an Oktoberfest themed dinner but better the second day. A suggestion: either warm the sauerkraut before layering with spaetzle or put the whole thing in the oven afterward. The heat from the cooked spaetzle can't stand up to cold kraut. Since it was better the second day, this might be a candidate for a make-ahead dish. And, oh yeah, it makes A LOT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: sizial
Wonderful spaetzle - thank you! I had the sauerkraut cooking for several hours prior to making the spaetzle to mellow it. I like to cook it in a can of beer and added 1-2t. caraway seeds and a cut up apple. I cooked it in a 3 qt. enameled cast iron pot and took it out when the spaetzle was ready to go and layered it back into this pot, to keep it nice and warm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sydney
This was awesome!!! I added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the batter and cooked the sauerkraut with some onions before layering. After putting the breadcrumbs on, I put the whole thing under the broiler for a few minutes to toast the top. I used the cutting board and knife method to make the noodles; I couldn't get it to come through the holes of my colander very easily. This recipe made a mess of my kitchen but it was extremely tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Kittykat822
This was excellent! My boyfriend is from Southern Germany near Stuttgart and this made him feel right at home. I threw a few sliced onions in a pan to throw on top to give it that extra tastes as well as layered with a small amount of mozzarella cheese and pepper. He was in heaven!! THANK YOU!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Sandra C.
This was an easier dish to make then I thought but bland, very bland. My son needed me to make it for his German class on the day they were sampling the foods of Germany. I spiced it up by melting some butter in a pan, adding the spaetzle with sauerkraut and then sprinkling some parmesan cheese on it. That made it taste awhole lot better, but probably not as authentic as it is in Germany. If you are in need of a german recipe to take to a class or themed dinner, consider the Bee Sting Cake on this site submitted by Carol Chung...that is awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Bob
Great dish. Entered it in a German Food Day contest and placed 3rd. I did a couple of others suggestions, like frying the sauerkraut in butter for awhile to slightly diminish the kraut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: heather3494
Just not as yellow as my German "mother in law's" she uses yolks only... Keep her German Son happy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: neeter
I had a similar dish in Partenkirchen Germany and wanted to try and recreate it. I added bacon and onions. I made the dough and used white wheat flour which I think gave it a nuttier texture and tasted great! I will use a ricer next time since I broke my spaetzle maker! It was a plastic piece but the ricer is just easier and I don't burn off my arms over the hot water. I also sauteed the spaetzle in butter to firm it up. I simmered my kraut in beer and added a little brown sugar and caraway. It was great! I mixed all the above and baked it with some mozz on the top. Swiss would work also but that's all we had. Great dish with personalized tweaking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Simmuns
Delicious. My family add some fried bacon to the onions and top with grated cheese
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes