My Reviews (179)

Venison Burgers

If you can get your hands on ground venison it makes a delicious change from beef in hamburgers. Serve with your favourite toppings.
Reviews (179)


17 May 2009
Reviewed by: Courtney
We are always looking for ways to use our deer meat. We never grill burgers as they are always a little dry. Well, this recipe was awesome! My husband and kids loved these burgers! So moist and delicious. We will definitely have these again and again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer Anne
This is the first year we have had venison, and I must admit I was nervous about preparing it! This recipe was good! A bit dry but that might be because I like my burgers rare, and we decided to be safe and cook it well. I took the extra and formed meatballs which i baked for 30 mins on 350. They came out better than the burgers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Nico
Amazing. Didn't change a thing and these are the tastiest burgers ever and soooooooooo juicy. My whole family loved them, even my picky kids. I would give them 10 stars if I could.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: kayakjoan
This was my first time ever cooking any kind of Venison. After reading the reviews I thought I would give this recipe a try. I was so impressed with the taste, flavor, ingredience used, texture, etc. This is a winner and I will prepare this over and over again. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Teri
Wonderful!! I cut recipe in half and still got 6 burgers out of it (well, 5 1/2). Also, I broiled the bun with cheddar cheese and bleu cheese crumbles until melted- great addition! Whole family loved these burgers. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: tjwearspjs
This recipe was great, a nice change from the "in the oven" venison burgers. I used one onion instead of two shallots, and I did the bacon in the microwave. The burgers still turned out very moist, and my husband liked them too! The bacon added a great smokey flavor, as well as the charcoal grill. I would definately do this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Luv2Cook
These burgers have great flavor. The only thing I substituted was a little onion powder for the shallots because I didn't have any on hand. It's too cold to cook outside so I cooked these in a cast iron skillet - 4 min per side, then finished them in a 425 degree oven for another 4 minutes to make sure the centers were done. It was a great meal with sweet potato fries and baked beans. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Maris
These burgers are AWESOME and the best I ever tasted either at home or in a restaurant. Followed the recipe as written and the results were perfect, just perfect. Really can't recommend them highly enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2007
Delicious! The best deer-burgers my husband and I have ever had. The burgers took awhile to make, but the bacon, bacon grease, and olive oil were such great alternatives to the fat we usually put in our venison burgers. MMMMM.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: krista v.
Delicious!! I just recently discovered venison and absolutely love it. I had 12 oz of ground venison so I used 3 slices nitrate-free bacon, red onion and fresh garlic instead of the shallots. I added a bit of butter to the pan after I cooked the bacon and sweated the onion and garlic. I used half a beaten egg and some panko bread crumbs too because my meat seemed a bit sticky. I also added some dried thyme based on another recipe I read on this site. The pan looked too good with all the brown bits and bacon grease/butter so I added a bit of olive oil and seared the burgers that way. Just have to keep a close eye on the heat because they cook quickly..about 4 mins on each side was maximum to still get 3 juicy burgers. Added some sliced provolone on top..a nice mild cheese to counter the meaty flavors was perfect. Loved the smokiness of the bacon, the freshness of the parsley and the beautifully different flavor of venison. Ive seen so many recipes with reviews that state all the tricks they used to mask the flavor of the venison. If you have to mask it..you probably just don't enjoy eating it lol. This recipe was great..thanks so much for sharing it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes