My Reviews (293)

Sauerkraut Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Pierogis do take a bit of work but they are divine when fried in some butter and onions or served with sour cream.
Reviews (293)


Comment:
01 Mar 2009
KylieT said:
Used different ingredients. this is almost identical to my grandmother's recipe, however she used to add browned beef mince and a little vegeta to the saurkraut.... delicious...
 
31 Oct 2006
Being Polish, and born in Poland, I have had many pierogi's in my day. After many disappointing pierogi meals, I came across this recipe...and all I can say is YUM! My kids (who do not care for dad's food preferences) inhaled these and asked for more. Great recipe -Dziekujemy! All this talk about Pierogi's is making me hungry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: mimi
My Grandma made the best Pierogi's ever. She took her secrets w/ her to the grave. I never thought that I would ever taste another Pierogi that could rival my Grandmothers, until this recipe! My family loved them and it was worth the time taken to make them. I think this will be one recipe that will be my family's "secret"
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Annie
I have had many pierogi's but none better than these. This recipe ensures that the Peirogi's are moist and definitely is the traditional Polish pierogi!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: VOLZSTONE
Gave this 5 stars for the dough. Used my own filling. This dough was exactly what I was looking for. Let the dough sit for 10 to 15 minutes before rolling. I use my pasta machine to roll out the dough. I use a wide rim glass or mug to cut out pierogi. SOOOOOO GOOD.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: KETHYAR
Over 2 hours of work and all I ended up eating was my left over mashed potatoes. I followed this recipe to the letter, and the finished product was gooey and tasteless and slimy. At least half of them broke in the water and leaked filling. I would be willing to try this recipe again if there were another cooking method. Can you bake these? Boiling produced such a mess; not sure where I went wrong on this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: hollybear
I have been trying to duplicate the ones made by a friends grandmother and these are by far the best! You have made my husband very happy! I make a big batch, freeze some on a baking sheet and then bag them up for later use. Boil them from frozen state and perfect!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Nicole
Time consuming but well worth it. I've never made these from scratch before, but found it to be quite easy and the end product was delicious. Just make sure you seal the dough with water and a fork or else you will have a mess when you go to boil them. Finish them off by frying them in a little butter to make them crispy and serve with onions. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Yogi's Girl
These are very good. When my husband was alive he made a "old counry" version with a mixture of seasoned hamburger, onion, beaten egg mixed will and placed inside the dough. He boiled them and then we would lightly brown the dough in a greased cast iron skillet after they had cooled from the boiling procedure. Serve them up with sour cream if desired. Not low on calories but a delicious version of the Pierogi with
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: PW_PowerPlate
Tasted amazing! I wanted to post a review to add a few tips for the few people that this recipe did not work for. It would be a shame to set it in the toss pile and never attempt it again. 1) The dough is delicate, I used my kitchen aid dough hook, but when the dough got a bit sticky I added about 1/2 cup of flour 2) When you are rolling out on the counter, be liberal with the flour on the counter and on the dough surface 3) When you cut your rounds, make the dough a little thicker (when you add the filling, you will stretch out the dough a little more) 4) flour your rounds on both sides and stack them on a plate, if you refrigerate your rounds for a few hours they will be easy to work with. 5) Make sure your filling has no juice! If you use the sauerkraut recipe add a bit of mashed potato to pull it together and drain and fry the sauerkraut for a few mins to boil away all of the leftover juice. 6) When making the mashed potatoes it helps to almost over whip them so they start to become a bit "gummy", not too much, but enough so you can make balls out of the mixture 7) If the pierogi "looks" sealed but you didn't fold it over or use a fork to bind it, it will probably come apart in the boiling water. 8) drop the pierogi's 1 at a time into the boiling water so they cook for a few seconds before the next is dropped in, this stops them from sticking together, I found that 2 mins of boiling was sufficient, and I fried them after. These turned out perfect!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes