My Reviews (389)

Spiced Lamb Tagine

This lovely spicy lamb tagine is super satisfying and best served with cous cous and cucumber raita. What a meal!
Reviews (389)


Comment:
28 Feb 2010
Altered ingredient amounts. Instead of thickening the excess liquidity, I drained it into a frypan, turned up the heat and reduced the liquid way, way down until it was 1/4 of original and thick... and SPICY.. Sensational Recipe!!
 
28 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: JASANDA100
I used forequarter lamb chops to make it more economical. Very tasty and the meat just fell off the bones.
 
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: bumble_bee56
Used beef instead of lamb which made a bit of a difference, but still very delicious. Definately going to make again but use lamb next time.
 
04 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: toniallan
Amazing! Quick to prepare and tasted just fabulous.
 
09 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: BobSchroder
Massive array of spices work well together to deliver an authentic Moroccan flavour. Doubled the recipe but kept the same amount of chicken stock - avoided having to thicken the dish that way. Worked well in my Scanpan Tagine.
 
09 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: wikilee64
loved it will make again
 
13 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: oranaise
Great recipe. I made it "as is" initially but found it was missing that certain-North-African something. Here are my modifications based on the fact I grew up eating and making this dish: - Add 1/2 tsp of ground caraway and 1/2 tsp of allspice. This really adds that extra kick for those who are craving Restaurant quality North African cuisine. - Don't bother with the saffron in the marination. Saffron is more expensive than gold, and it only releases flavor in liquid (warm water or broth). Using it in the meat marinade just lends color; the flavor (and cost) is lost (the turmeric will give enough). - I cooked the onions, garlic and ginger and let them sweat before adding the raw meat; completely skipped the browning process. (We don't brown meat for stews in North Africa). - I added homemade beef broth - it's not recommended to use chicken stock if dealing with a lamb dish. This is a big NO-NO in North African cuisine. Disregard my comment if you used chicken! - I used preserved lemons instead of the lemon zest indicated in the recipe. These are hard to find based on where you are located; but not hard to make at home if you have time. I used half a preserved lemon, sliced it thinly and added it with the carrots. - Lastly, if you have "Harissa", a Tunisian chili paste, I would recommend this mixed with regular tomato paste, over the sun-dried tomatoes. Please NOTE: Harissa is spicy so disregard if you are trying to tone it down.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Lana
Delicious!! I prepped everything and let it simmer all afternoon in a slow cooker. The meat was so tender and flavorful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Lindz
Excellent. I just wish I had more time to marinate the lamb - only had a couple hours. But I browned the lamb and then threw everything in the crock pot and it was great. If you happen to be able to get your hands on ras al hanout season blend, you don't have to worry around with all the different spices - just use 2 1/2 tablespoons of that for the marinade, and then add and additional tablespoon and the ginger to the crock pot. Places like Cost Plus carry it really cheap!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: CHRISMK
Oh YEAH!! Need to up the 'stars' to 10 out of 5 for this! What a fantastic recipe!! This was the first time I had cooked Moroccan for my family but this was the BEST! I bought a jar of Moroccan Seasoning but also added a little bit of each of the spices I had in the cupboard too. Marinated it in the dry spice mix in the fridge overnight. Next morning browned the meat, added the rest of the ingredients to the pot as per recipe, then tipped it all into the slow cooker for 3.5 hrs on high. Added sultanas and pine nuts in final hour. Served over rice as we are not cous cous fans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes