My Reviews (66)

Indian Chicken and Rice

This perfect midweek meal is a combination of chicken coated in Indian spices served with seasoned rice combined with mixed fruit.
Reviews (66)


01 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: melon79
Delish! Will be made again. Used soak dried apricots and cranberries as my mixed fruit. For the liquid, I increased it to 3 cups: 2 cups water, 1 cup chicken broth. Needed just a little longer to cook that stated, but probably just my oven. So easy.
 
04 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BigBob
My family loved this recipe. Easy to prepare tasted great. I used 4 Chicken Maryland pieces and added a small tin of capsicum and a small tin of super sweet corn to the rice mix. I used chicken stock instead of the water and used brown sugar. I baked the last ten minutes uncovered to crisp up the chicken skin. I will definitely make this again.
 
23 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Mumbear
I didn't read the instructions properly so put all the curry in the paprika and butter mix. I also missed the important step of covering while it cooked, so my rice was pretty much uncooked. Won't make that mixtake next time and there will definetly be a next time because despite my mistakes it was really good and it would be amazing if I hadn't made mistakes.
 
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: EAKE
This wonderful dish got 5 stars from everyone in a very picky family! The flavor was superb and it couldn't have been easier to prepare. I was a little confused on the addition of the curry powder though. The ingredients called for 4 tsps of curry, divided, but it didn't tell where to put the divisions in the recipe. I decided to put 2 tsp in with the rice and 2 tsps in with the butter mixture. Think I must have done it right because it was delish!! Oh, it only took 45 minutes to cook instead of an hour. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: mulegrrl44
This is one of the best Indian recipes out there! You get great Indian flavor but it's easy, and leaves your house smelling wonderful. I agree with the rest of the reviewers who said it only needed 45 minutes to cook. For the dried fruit I used a mix that I got in the bulk food section of my grocery store--it had raisins, cranberries, dried pineapple and dried mango. Those fruit flavors were delicious in this dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: RACHELABIGAIL
I cut this in half and used two small boneless skinless chicken breasts to serve two. For the dried fruit I used apricots. Wonderful! I will be making this over and over again! Edited to add: I've since found that this is even better with boneless skinless thighs. The thighs are more moist than the breasts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: lovelymeal
Chiken was bland the rice was ok. It was not as exotic as I thought it would be. As an improvement to the recipe I will probably add cashews & chicken stock(instead of water) to the rice with dried fruit to accompany spicy curry chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Lauren Burnette
The chicken didn't have much curry flavor, but the rice was amazing. I used mixed raisins as the dried fruit and it came out delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: gidgit1880
I did this recipe a little different. I cooked it as a rice side dish. First, I melted 2 tablespoons of butter into a skillet and added 1/2 cup onions, then added a small box of rasins after a few minutes and continued cooking and stiring for another minute. Next, I added one cup of cooked rice mixed ingredients and one more tablespoon of butter. I mixed it until melted, then added sugar, salt, curry powder paprika, and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (for spice). I continued to cook and stir for a few minutes more. Recipe turned out great!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: joe
This is a great dish. Very much like a Thai curry rice dish that is made at a local Thai restaurant. I altered my recipe to be more Thai-like in taste to mimic the restaurant's and turned out perfect. First of all, I browned the chicken in garlic and vegetable oil and curry powders (lots of curry powder as many reviewed the chicken to be bland)- browning all sides. I also used chicken thighs because I love the skin of the chicken. I also used chicken stock instead of water. Added cashews along with a dried raisin/cranberries combo, twice the amount of curry powder indicated and more onions (probably a 1/3 more than indicated) to pack more of a punch. I would also suggest trying pineapple- not even dried one, just the one from the can is terrific. Next time I will try a seafood version of this with scallops, mussels and shrimp. Was delish and tasted SO similar to the restaurant's. A big hit at out home! Thanks so much
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes