My Reviews (60)

Crispy Oat Crumbed Fish

Rolled oats are used in this recipe rather than breadcrumbs to create a crispy coating for fish. Serve warm with chips and lemon or with a salad.
Reviews (60)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Baker, Cookie Ranger
Made this tonight for my family, mostly because I didn't have the ingredients to make another recipe. I'm glad now. This was a very easy to make, delicious fish. The oats added a nice crunch. (Will it also counter the cholestrol in the vegetable oil?) Next time, I'll add more seasoning to the flour. It's a keeper.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Betty Rocker!
This deserves 10 stars. It so moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I love the oatmeal. Why didn't I ever think of this. By far the best fish I have ever made.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LOVETOCOOK44
It's nice! It is crunchy like breadcrumb... I like it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COOKIN4FIVE05
My husband and I sat in stunned silence as our normaly fussy 4yr old gobbled this fish up. His only request to us was "try your dinner it's good" and he was right. We did add season salt to the flour as suggested by other members
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JENAHAY
Great change of pace. The flour before the egg/milk really helped coat the fish and stick the oats. Nice heavy coating gave the fish a wonderful texture, almost nutty. Everyone loved it even the picky 3yr old. When I make this again I will probably add some seasoning to the mix as that was the only thing lacking.
 
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Susan Andersen
I dont usually rate a recipe that I altred, but based on other reviews, I made two changes. One, I seasoned the fish to my liking BEFORE the flour, that way the fish got seasoned, not the coating. Second, I cooked the fish in the oven the way I do ovwen fried chicken. I heat up the pan in the oven first, and aadd whatever oil or butter I want to use ( usually a combination ) Then I added the fish. Cooked it halfway thru, then flipped it over to finish cooking. Both sides get crispy, the fish gets cooked before it burns. My husband and I both enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: minger1
My husband and I sat in stunned silence as our normaly fussy 4yr old gobbled this fish up. His only request to us was "try your dinner it's good" and he was right. We did add season salt to the flour as suggested by other members
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: QUASINAUGHT
This deserves 10 stars. It so moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I love the oatmeal. Why didn't I ever think of this. By far the best fish I have ever made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: NThea
Made this tonight for my family, mostly because I didn't have the ingredients to make another recipe. I'm glad now. This was a very easy to make, delicious fish. The oats added a nice crunch. (Will it also counter the cholestrol in the vegetable oil?) I added about 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning to the flour for extra flavoring. Next time, I'll add more seasoning to the flour. It's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: CNLMOORE
Great change of pace. I used walleye brought back from Canada and it turned out fabulous. The flour before the egg/milk really helped coat the fish and stick the oats. Nice heavy coating gave the fish a wonderful texture, almost nutty. Everyone loved it even the picky 3yr old. When I make this again I will probably add some seasoning to the mix as that was the only thing lacking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes