My Reviews (385)

Easy Popcorn in the Microwave

You do not have to pay top dollar for premade microwave popcorn, ordinary popcorn works perfectly well. You can also adjust the salt yourself!
Reviews (385)


Comment:
01 Dec 2010
Allrecipes said:
Homemade microwave popcorn is listed on the GI database as having a GL of 6 (per 20gm serve)
 
Comment:
16 Oct 2009
Aurajin said:
No one with half a brain needs a recipe for popcorn!
 
24 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: huiabird
yep this is one of the easy peasy ways to do popcorn, without the messy pots, thanks for the great idea, will be using this all the time now
 
01 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: lillalilly
I dont understand how this is listed as Low GI. With an average glycemic load of 11, I'd actually call that quite high.
 
13 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Angelam
 
12 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Tazza85
i used to do this all the time, but without the oil, makes it healthier
 
20 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MIKE FROM PA
We've been doing this for years with a couple minor changes. First, we've always use olive oil which is not only healthier but adds a wonderful flavor. Second, we fold the top of the bag over just once and put one staple in the middle. This allows steam to get out without the top popping open (pun intended). The staple is so small we've never had any problems with sparking or whatever. I've also experimented with adding in a fresh jalapano pepper or some chopped garlic so it is never blah. One last thing, get some popcorn salt, it is much finer than table salt and works so much better. I can't imagine buying MW popcorn with all the additives plus costing $1 per bag or more! Enjoy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jen S.
I had to make this recipe twice, because the first time it burned after I set the bag on it's side like usual microwave popcorn (recipe did not state how to put bag in). As it turns out, the bag is supposed to be set upright (not on it's side), and it turned out just fine. Try spraying "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" on top to keep it low cal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jessica
WOW! This is the coolest thing! I've heard for years that this could be done, but for some reason, never tried it. I used 1/3 c. unpopped corn with no oil, and seasoned to taste with salt afterward. There were literally NO unpopped kernels, and none were burnt! The bag was in for about 3 minutes, and the tip about listening for 2 seconds between pops was great! I've always heard 5, and part of my corn usually burns. I am so excited about this! I will never buy store-bought micro-corn again. Really versatile, too; this could be seasoned up with anything!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: PATTIMAC2000
This is so easy, don't doubt it. I made it with oil and without and it works both ways. I always have unpopped kernels but i would rather have them, then burnt popcorn. it is great, easy, healthy and cheap! that's tough to beat. I use the butter flavored spray release and I got great seasonings through kernelseasons.com -they carry lots more then you will find at the grocery store. enjoy! i have used this idea and turned it into a gift basket...i got cute lunch bags, a big bowl, seasonings and butter release spray and a bag or jar of popcorn. i typed up the instructions and gave them all as gifts last year....now my whole office knows how to make it.... this is really a great recipe. thanks again Acontorer!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes