My Reviews (47)

Potatoes with Mango Chutney

Potatoes and cauliflower are fried then simmered in a mix of spices, stock, vinegar and chutney in this flavourful meal. Serve with white rice.
Reviews (47)


29 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: VIVNIDHI
Tasted very good and different although we eat similar food mostly. One needs to soak the lentils in water half an hour before cooking ( right at the beginning of cooking). I also add all the sour ingredints like chutney, vinegar, tomato, etc. at the last after the lentils have softened. Used crushed sweet mango pickle instead of the chutney. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: tee
i used this as a base to use things up in my kitchen. i used three medium potatos, 2 small onions, 5 cloves garlic (more than the usual person!) and browned it in olive oil, then added the curry, then 3 minutes later added 11/2 cups of vegetable stock, 3/4 cup of red lentils, 1x 400 gram of crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper. then simmered for 20 minutes and it was absolutely LOVELY. will use this as a base recipe and will try different vege's and ingredients in the future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: ROSEW1
Fabulous!!! I used frozen cauliflower and diced tomatoes. Also added one large sweet potato and 4 small potatoes instead of the 1 1/2 lbs of white potatoes. So delicious and healthy!! Thank you for any other recipes you may offer. So easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: mommyabi
This was very good! Will definately make again. I served with Jasmin rice. One child really enjoyed the cauliflower, the other the potatoes. Will probably add a bit of cayenne next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: librarylady
Used brown lentils as didn't have red lentils...precooked them about 25 minutes...all in all, pretty good. I'd go out of my way next time to get red lentils though, as they cook softer and I felt the curry needed thickened up a bit as slightly softer lentils would have done. Might also add some cumin or coriander for a more full-bodied spice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
I did a recipe search for "red lentils" and chose this recipe because I had MOST of the ingredients on hand. I was unable to find mango chutney and simply didn't have time to make it. I did add some diced, fresh mango in its place. It was such a small amount that it really disappeared into the dish. I think it could easily be left out and wouldn't be missed. I found that the dish took MUCH longer to cook than indicated - almost 50 minutes to cook the potatoes through. I had to add at least an extra cup of vegetable stock during cooking. The result was delicious. I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Natasha Kay
This looks awful but tastes DIVINE! I omit the vinegar, serve the chutney as a side rather than cooked inside and I let it simmer for at least 40 minutes to keep the lentils soft.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: isidona
Fantastic recipe. Enjoyed making it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Dannaston
Very impressed with this. Went down a treat at a recent curry party I held!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: MILKLISSA79
Absolutely amazing! I used the mango chutney recipe on this site. I am so happy to have found such a flavorful and delicious recipe. My hubby asks for this at least once a week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes