My Reviews (39)

Aunt Bev's Glorified Toasted Cheese Sandwich

A yummy twist on the old fashioned toasted cheese sandwich. My aunt used to make these for me for lunch when I spent the summers with her.
Reviews (39)


14 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Great sandwich! It was a nice nice from regular grilled cheese. The only thing I did different was to thin the egg mixture out with a bit of milk and to use light mayo and light Swiss cheese. Other than that it was perfect with tomato soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Cooking 101
These were great, we did sub the swiss for provolone and havarti cheese. Thanks for the post. I wanted to update this review 08/21/06 only because we tried this for breakfast and used cheddar and american cheese with the ham. I used the texas toast bread, and added hard eggs to the sandwich. My husband preferred his open faced with the ham, cheese then an egg over easy to top his off. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: CiaoAmica
Awesome! Thanks to Aunt Bev! The only thing I changed, because it didn't need any change is the Swiss, I changed it to baby swiss which is milder. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, I wish I thought of myself! 5 stars! P.S. My 3 (ages 5-12) very picky Grandchildren, that don't even like grilled cheese, LOVED IT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: TEXXYTOE
mmmmmmmmmm very good. I used provolone instead of swiss cause that is what I had. It was very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: ERIKA E
Yummy and Easy. I used cheddar (didn't have swiss) and added a bit of milk to the egg. Will make again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Dragngirle
These are really great sandwiches! Thanks for the post! However, they aren't for someone on a diet! I didn't have any Italian bread so I just used white bread & added a touch of oregano to the egg mixture. I used spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard because I didn't have any & I cut it down to only 1 tsp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: wannabe chefette
This is a great sandwich. Very filling. I used whole grain white instead of the Italian, since I didn't have that on hand. Wow, filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: PMommy
Great for leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: My4boys
I noticed this as I was doing the photo voting and thought it sounded really good for lunch, therefore, I made it right away. I loved the flavor of this recipe. I don't know if the egg wash is absolutely necessary and I may omit it next time just to see the difference. I will be making this again often for my lunch. It was a nice way of doing something different with my usual ham and cheese sandwich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: KPITTS1
These were okay. They cooked beautifully and the egg didn't lend any flavor which I was worried about. Maybe with a different cheese to give it more of a pop it would be better. I might try them again with cheddar but as was I found them kind of blah.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes