My Reviews (85)

Easy Fennel Soup

This is a really easy and tasty soup to make. The fennel is sautéed in butter then vegetable stock is added. Serve with warm bread.
Reviews (85)


19 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: beecee
Tasty and easy to make. I made as directed and took the suggestion from another review to add cubed potatoes. I added two dollops of sour cream when cool and a dash of onion powder. Then I blended in food processor for a fancier soup. However, it was fine just as made from the stove. I thought the fronds would make a nice garnish but found them too tough and lacking the fennel flavor. This is a great alternative from the same old, same old.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: alyson_a
So easy and delicious. I get organic fruits/vegs delivered to my door, and my box contained fennel this week. I have never cooked with it before and decided to try this recipe. I only used 1 fennel bulb, and added cubed potato to bulk it up. I pureed some of it so that it had a creamy texture but still contained chunks of fennel and potato. I just ate 3 bowls.....I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: c-biskit
I never knew how much I loved fennel until I tried this soup! It has a delicious, mild flavor; the flavor of the ingredients are really allowed to come through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: RoseanneM
Wow! So wonderful and unexpected! I absolutely love this soup. I made it as a starter for a fancy dinner party, and everyone loved it. The first question was 'what is in this?' It seems most people have never even tried fennel. I made 2 changes. I cubed the fennel since my bulbs were large, and I used half veg broth and half chicken broth. This is one of my absolute favorite soup recipes now!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: donnacim
Delicous!! And so easy! The fennel itself makes this seem like a complex blend of subtle flavors. I used chicken broth, pureed the soup, and it made a perfect, creamy comfort food. This will be a regular in my kitchen. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
Classy, not to mention quick and easy to make! I don't really like anise, but really enjoyed this soup, it also reheats and freezes well; an added bonus
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This is a good recipe to use with fennel that isn't super fresh and tender. The flavor was excellent, and I enjoyed it, but I think it would be wonderful with some heavy cream, and maybe even some potato. I'll try that this weekend. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
This could be the easiest 'fancy' recipe ever. Very delicious. Reheats well too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Maria
Good recipe - I didn't have vegetable broth on hand, so used water, some garlic powder, parsley, basil, dash of olive oil, and a small tomato. Fennel flavor is mild as others have said. I would definitely say the butter should be reduced, likely by half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: KUCHENCHEFINCANADA
Very tasty and easy soup! I used olive oil and added some spices but even without these changes I think it would've been good. The taste of fennel is very mild.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes