My Reviews (35)

Rabbit and Coconut Stew

Since rabbit meat has a tendency to be dry, it is best cooked with a creamy sauce as in this coconut cream stew. Absolutely delicious! Serve with white rice.
Reviews (35)


22 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: RobertCox
 
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: JeanneBean
I love rabbit more than chicken, so I was excited to find a new and different recipe. My husband is a traditional rabbit cooker (you know, hunter style or cream style), which is fine, but I was ready to get out of the box. My kids and I loved this recipe! I did tone down the sweetness by correcting it with more chicken stock and boiling it back down (for my husband). I also cooked everything in a big dutch oven and just pulled out the rabbit to saute the veggies and drain the oil. I did remove the bones from the rabbit while the veggies cooked; that allowed me to eat my dinner rather than cut up my children's! AND no child felt badly about cutting up Bugs Bunny . I think it helped! 5 stars from me and the kids and 4 from the traditional American hunter (whatever! I'll be making this again!) YUM! Oh...I couldn't help but add a touch of saffron. Just couldn't help myself! It was beautiful and delicious! I would have taken a picture, but I was too excited to eat! Even the next day, I had to say to a friend who was over, "Here, you have to try this!!" I know I'm blabbing, but it really rocked!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2007
Reviewed by: cookhealthy
My husband said this was the best rabbit that he has ever had. A family friend had no idea that it was rabbit when served. The chili pepper added just the right amount of spice. I did not know what a bird's eye chile was so I used a serrano. It turned out great!!! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2008
Fantastic! This was my first time cooking rabbit- I don't think I'll be trying any other recipes. This had a very sophisticated taste, but was so easy to cook! Just lots of simmering! Thanks for sharing this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: NSPHERBLADY
We're in love with this dish! Just made it tonight (we raise meat rabbits) and it was the best rabbit dish we've made so far. This recipe is a keeper. I added two serrano peppers and it really had a nice kick. The coconut milk made a delicious sauce that we ate over brown rice. I pressure cooked it for 30 minutes and the meat was falling-off-the bones tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: dr. filomena
I was a bit sceptical as I'd never made rabbit before, but having just eaten the meal, I had to run back to the computer and give it a full five-star rating here. THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: cdp
Crockpot version: cut everything to desired bite size; put everything in pot (not need to saute); cook for 8 hours on low. Meats comes out tender and broth fan-freak'n-tastic! Can reduce broth on stove top if want more of a sauce before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: chuffstix
Highly recommend this recipe. I always struggle with ideas for rabbit and this has just doubled my repertoire! Really simple, tastes delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jenwife
Overall this was a great tasting dish. Although I did a few changes and would do more next time. First of all, I browned the meat and then put that and all the rest of the ingredients (except I put a small, fresh cayenne pepper instead of the chili pepper) into my pressure cooker and cooked for 30 mins like one of the other people tried. (I just love the taste and tenderness that the pressure cooker gives!) After the 30 mins. I took out the meat and deboned it...it was falling off the bone and VERY tender and tasty! I thickened the liquids with cornstarch and water and put the meat back in. The stew had too much heat (spice from the cayenne pepper) so I added about 1/4 c. of extra coconut milk. That helped alot! Next time I will add carrots, celery, and that extra milk. That should be just about perfect! Hubby loved it! We look forward to using this one again...thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: kristi
absolutely loved it! My dad is a gourmet cook and he said it the best rabbit he had! So defiantly will make it again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes