My Reviews (17)

Casseroled Beef and Vegetable Curry

This is a very mild beef and vegetable curry that uses lots of spices, vegetables, fruit and beef; started on the stove it is finished in the oven. Serve with rice or bread.
Reviews (17)


05 May 2012
Reviewed by: libbyh
Very yummy. I browned the meat instead of boiling, and cooked the lot on top of the stove instead of oven baking. Served with Naan bread, Dhal, lentils and steamed rice- visitors very impressed and will definitely cook again.
 
05 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: MamaBear
Loved it. Packed with good food, tasty and fun to make but time consuming. A family favourite that I will definitely do again.
 
11 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Mezza52
Absolutely fabulous, very delicious, will definitely cook it again. I t is better cooked on stove, excellent result
 
15 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: RianaP
Love this recipe. Also cooked it over slow heat on top of the stove after browning the meat. Saves a lot of time.
 
28 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: EKSATTLER
Great flavor and wonderful seasonings but I made a lot of revisions. First I used 2 pounds stew meat rather than 1/2, and I didn't boil the beef, I dredged it in seasoned and browned it, then set it aside. I omitted parsnips (what are parsnips anyway?) and zucchini. Rather than go through the whole roasting pan ordeal, I dumped the browned beef & 1 can of beef broth into the pot with veggies, added a cup of water put the lid on & simmered for about 1 1/2 hours. The only change I will make next time would be to add the apples about half way through, because they were a bit soggy after cooking. Other than that, it's DELICIOUS! Wasn't too spicy for my kids either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Kim
Delicious! I added some vegetable stock and rosemary to the chicken (I had no beef) while cooking and substituted 1 extra carrot and 1 extra potato because I had no parsnips. I left out the raisins and used peanuts too. It turned out great, but I'm sure it would have even without the adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Carrie C
A good spicy meal. My hubby made it while I was out and I came home to the house smelling yummy! The spice was a little much for me but perfect for my hubby.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Leslie R.
This was heavenly! And wow, did it smell good cooking. I think you could use just about any combination of vegetables and it would work. We served it with saffron rice and naan, and it was delicious. Thank you so much for posting this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: donnamosk
This was a delicious curry and excellent way to use up left over root vegetables. I added a can of coconut milk to the recipe. It had a bit more spice than I like, but my husband found it just right. It was perfect for a cold winter night meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Caroline
This is a great recipe!! We only used half of the recipe, the other half went in the freezer. So to half of this recipe, I added 1 can coconut milk, (just because we love it, and it makes a nice sauce) tablespoon of mango chutney, more curry powder, and used left over roast beef, which I added near the end of the baking time, with the apples. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes