My Reviews (39)

Chicken and Rice Biryani

My husband's mother taught me this recipe, an authentic Hyderabadi-style biryani that is a trademark of home-cooking in south India. The chicken, spices and rice all cook in the same frying pan.
Reviews (39)


24 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: eljaustin
I'm only giving this three stars because biriyani is ALWAYS made with basmati rice, and no other. Biriyani recipes vary from person to person, and I have to say these ingredients are authentic, with the exception of bay leaves - usually curry leaves are used instead. The one-pot method used here can also be replaced by cooking the meat and rice separately, and layering them later. Just make sure you have enough gravy for the chicken to season the rice as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: cookingood
This is not at all like the Hyderabadi Biryani I learned to make in Hyderabad. You would never use anything but basmati rice for this dish. The best cooks marinate the chicken in the yogurt and spices. This is a good recipe but as far as it being authentic, it is not.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: RuthieRu
This recipe came out totally wrong. I didn't even use the full amount of water but the rice just formed a huge glob, and it was pretty much tasteless. I was really disappointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: nadine
just made this.. really enjoyable. I made some healthier changes. use brown basmati rice for eg but used all the required spices.. a must try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: kahuja
This was a great easy recipe. I made a few adjustments. I decreased the ghee by about 1/2. I decreased the cloves to about 10 and the cardamom to about 4 and bay leaves to 3. I added a cinnamon stick, and 15 black peppercorns. I used fresh ginger and fresh garlic too. I did not use the green chiles bc the the kids wont eat them but the peppercorns gave it enough kick. I also added more salt. I added about a tablespoon of Shan Biryani spice mix too. Next time i think i will add a potato or two when i am cooking the onions. I used boneless chicken breasts too. It was really good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: justkat2
Fabulous! My Indian husband was craving a good home made biryani and this recipe made him very happy. I used 5 serrano peppers the first time and the heat was just right. I also added cashews and golden raisins. Yum! I made it a second time for the kids and only used one serrano pepper, it wasn't enough spice. Great recipe, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2010
Reviewed by: janelle
Flavor is quite good--this isn't a very strong, flavorful biryani, but rather light and mild. I used black cardamom (instead of green cardamom) pods, which I think has a bit more astringent flavor. Serving size of this recipe is huge--for two people, just 1/4 of the recipe is plenty. Also, my rice turned out incredibly mushy. I think you might need to adjust the amount of water added (4 1/8 cups). I could have used 3 cups, and it would have been just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Stephen Newport
Oh my god, this is so good! Although I can handle heat pretty well I am surely no native; so I was skeptical about the amount of chilies. It turned out to be perfect, absolutely perfect. Best curry I've ever made and in the top 5 I've ever eaten. I will make this again and again, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Brian
This was very easy to make. My wife and I love the rice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: luvchef
This recipe was amazing.... all my guests loved it. Since I did not have a large utensil to cook the meat and rice together, they were cooked separately and combined after...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes