My Reviews (39)

Chicken and Rice Biryani

My husband's mother taught me this recipe, an authentic Hyderabadi-style biryani that is a trademark of home-cooking in south India. The chicken, spices and rice all cook in the same frying pan.
Reviews (39)


14 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Little Miss Greedy
I made this for my family and I, and we loved it. Had to add some more salt and garlic for extra taste but in the end it was very tasty. I didnt feel like making raita so I just topped it with some plain yougurt... yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Murphy
Excellent and easy to make. To flavor it a little add ginger to onions while frying.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Mike Carson
This is by far the best biryani recipe I have ever tried. The only change I made was to add a pinch of safron as it looked a bit pale.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Ken_H
Great Recipe...makes a ton of food though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Kavarana
Curry leaves and curry spice (powder) are not the same thing. Curry leaves (Murraya koenigii) are also called Kari leaves and can be found at Indian/Asian grocery stores and have a lime smell to them. The best substitutes are bay leaves OR basil OR kaffir lime leaves (may be available at a Southeast Asian markets).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: prittykitty74
When I read the recipe I was so excited to try it. Now I am just disappointed and have a big bowl of leftovers that may end up going to waste. Not a recipe that I will try again - way too bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: vindk
this is nt biryani ,this is chicken khichidi, the recipe is totally wrong..........!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: SnagleB
This was very good. The flavors were subtle but distinctive even without the curry leaves. I halved the recipe and used one large chicken breast, which shortened the cooking time. It goes well with "Indian Dal with Spinach" also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Shelley Palmer
I added a few extra spices: cardamom, turmeric, hing (asafetida) and left out the garlic. Also, I'm a vegetarian so I added chicken substitute, green peas, cauliflower and cashews. It's likely that my version is regionally confused but it's tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: avrilsonialobo
This is more of a pulav with absolutely no spices incorporated so probably RK you might need to go back and ckeck because this is definately not hyderabadi biryani from indian standards
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes