My Reviews (32)

Hazelnut Haggis

Here is a great tasting vegetarian recipe of the 'king of puddings,' haggis. This was passed on by some friends from Cape Breton.
Reviews (32)


09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Bioesa
I first had vegetarian haggis at Henderson's Restaurant in Edinburgh. This is not the same, but still very good. I had to add an additional cup of vegetable broth before adding the egg, as it was too dry. I also added an additional egg which helped it stick together. I left out the kidney beans and substituted 6 T. ground walnuts for the peanuts and hazelnuts. For mixed spice I used a combination of allspice, mace, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. My vegetarian son gave it a definite thumbs up. I will definatly makes this again. Good and healthy and sticks to your ribs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Ita
This is a really good vegetarian option. Served it with the traditional neeps(turnip) and tatties and it was a great success.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: kareno
Pretty good. I think I'd prefer it as little patties. For the 'mixed spice' I used a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, coriander, caraway, and cayenne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: karenj
This was excellent. My whole family loved it and it's not that much work as you can do the veggies and nuts in the food processor. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan and it made a ton. For the mixed spice, I threw in nutmeg, cinnamon, ground ginger, coriander and oregano. The recipe seemed quite forgiving, so you can be creative with the spicing. I served the haggis with a vegetarian gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Deb
Wow, this is delicious! I'm definitely including this as an option for our next Burns' dinner. I found I needed to add more water as the oats were cooking. I served it with packaged gravy. Scotch would also be good. ;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
11 Aug 2008
iluvbread said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I had to add an additional 250ml vegetable broth before adding the egg, as it was too dry. I also added an additional egg which helped it stick together. I left out the kidney beans and substituted 6 T. ground walnuts for the peanuts and hazelnuts. For mixed spice I used a combination of mace, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah-May
This stuff is fantastic, I like to add garlic and for mixed spice use savory, caraway and sage. I usually replace the hazelnuts and peanuts with walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: krone9
didn't rate this much. didn't taste much like haggis to me - I added a fair bit of pepper for a closer taste. That said it was still good - just not really haggis.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: greaterexp3
I don't know a thing about traditional haggis, but we certainly enjoyed this version! I used white kidney beans because I had them on hand. I substituted tahini for the ground peanuts and omitted the egg. I used a smidgen of cinnamon and allspice in place of the mixed spice. Even with my substitutions, it was terrific. We served it as we would meatloaf, so it only served 4. It was a little crumbly without the egg, but we didn't mind a bit; others may want to use it. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: IronChefHarvey
Delicious! It's been a while since I had real haggis, but I think this is a fair approximation, and all with veggies! It's quite easy (especially compared to traditional recipes) - no tracking down strange bits of offal, which are hard/impossible to find in the States. I was confused about the "mixed spice" and didn't even think of the pie spices other people have named, so I just ended up using a basil/oregano/sage mix and it was fine. I also subbed pecans for hazelnuts, since I had them on hand. One tough spot was that the mixture was too dry already when starting in on the 20 minute simmer, so I added water along the way to keep it from burning to the bottom of the pan and drying out. It also didn't set up into a real firm loaf, but served as a sort of hash was just fine. What matters is that its delicious. Cheers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes