My Reviews (472)

Carrot Muffins with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing

This is a very moist and light carrot muffin. It's not too sweet and not greasy like other carrot muffins or cakes. The icing is optional but recommended!
Reviews (472)


01 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: tracer2
Beautiful muffins - lovely and soft and very easy. I used cheerful butter icing (from this site) as I didn't have the icing ingredients, and didn't put any walnuts in - but still a great tasting muffin
 
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: natchcols
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's birthday, his favourite cake is carrot cake. They turned out well, he loved them...I topped them with a few curls of shaved white chocolate for pizzaz! The only complaint I have is that the recipe for the icing makes a totally ridiculous amount of icing - a big waste of ingredients!! Next time I'd cut the icing recipe at least in half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Star S.
This recipe was fabulous!! I doubled the cupcake recipe and kept the frosting recipe as is and had just the right amount of frosting. I found that once the frosting was on the cupcakes the orange flavor was just right, not overpowering at all. I used 1 C. whole wheat flour to 2 C. all-purpose flour and substituted coconut for the walnuts. I kept everything else the same and got rave reviews and many requests for this recipe! I definitely recommend using this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: chefX39
I once again made these cupcakes this time for a summer Sunday evening BBQ. Made with the frosting from Carrot Cake III. Once again received rave reviews and many comments that they are delicious and moist!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Erin
These were exactly like my grandma's carrot cake she used to make. I changed it up a bit...1/2 apple sauce for 1/2 the oil, whole wheat flour, brown sugar for white. Super moist and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2007
Reviewed by: Janer110
The cupcakes turned out excellent! People at work were practically fighting over them. I will concur with the other reviewers who said this recipe makes WAY TOO MUCH frosting. I doubled the batch because it says it only makes 12 cupcakes, but I actually ended up with close to 50, which I thought I was generously frosting until I was done and there was still a full two cups of frosting left!!! And I didn't double the frosting recipe! I also didn't have any orange extract so I put a dot of lemon extract in and it gave the frosting a nice citrusy flavor without being overpowering. I put an entire 20 oz can of crushed pineapple (which I drained, but not very well) in the cake batter because I didn't feel like wasting it. I will make these again, but maybe not so many!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Kaylin
Two thumbs up! I cut the frosting recipe in half per the advice of another review, which is an excellent idea. On top of that, I modified to make a lower calorie frosting and cut the butter in half along with using milk instead of cream and the frosting was still excellent. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
These are SO good! Really decadent. (And I thought I "didn't like" carrot cake.) My daughter saw some beautiful carrot cupcakes w/cream cheese frosting at Trader Joe's and wanted to buy them; I told her we'd do better and make some instead! This recipe looked good, and it was. I have never made carrot cake before and was unsure of the pineapple, but it's great. I also thought the batter was really liquidy, but I guess it's supposed to be that way. I got 15 cupcakes out of this. I reduced the white sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I used 1% milk in the frosting, not cream, and it was fine. I made all of the frosting (used Neufchatel), and yes it is too much, but I was expecting that because I read the reviews. I'm going to use the rest to frost some chocolate cookies. The frosting is really good; I added an extra ounce of white chocolate. Next time I would only do 3 cups of sugar- it's pretty sweet as-is. You can really taste the orange too but I like that. This recipe is really good, and almost perfect (except for the sugar) so it gets 5 stars from me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: NTRDM2004
This is an exceptional carrot cake cupcake recipe! The cupcakes are moist and full of flavor! I shreddded the carrots on the fine side of my shredder. As for the crushed pineapple, I wasn't sure if I should drain it or not -- I drained it and saved the juice and added about half of the reserved juice at the end when I saw the consistency. With that said, I think the recipe would be absolutely fine if the pineapple is drained or not. I did not use the frosting on this recipe -- I used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: CRAIGTRAYNOR
I only tried making the icing and it was the best tasting I've ever made. Delicious !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes