My Reviews (450)

Super Chocolate Ice Cream

This is a very rich, custard style ice cream and my favourite chocolate ice cream. You will need an ice cream maker.
Reviews (450)


Comment:
05 Apr 2010
LouiseBurr said:
Took shortcuts. Make this best ever icecream even better by this simple shortcut. Ditch the icecream machine and instead simply whip the cream before adding to the cooled custard. Then freeze! Easy.
 
Comment:
27 Jan 2009
zaha2021 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added 1/2 pack chopped Chocolate Ripple biscuits during the churning in the ice cream maker.
 
14 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: thecholl
OMG, AMAZING!!!!!!! Can't believe I made something that great! Top marks! I should just say however, I didn't follow the instructions to the letter. I followed steps 1-3, and then I whipped the cream before folding the chocolate mixture into it. Why? I was cynical that doing it that way would freeze well and turn out ok. And I'm sooooooooooooo glad I did because my freezer tends to freeze ice cream mixture pretty hard and I usually find I have to let my ice cream stand for a while before I can scoop. So, if you have that problem generally, whip the cream and then add the milk mixture.
 
Comment:
20 Jan 2009
paul18 said:
Oh my god my mouth is in extacy.I recieved an icecream maker for Xmas and after trying 4 other recipes with average results I was thinking the icecream maker might retire to the pantry.Then I tried this 1.I'm off to the freezer now for more
 
10 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: ashi09
this recipe was so easy to do. It is extremely tasty. although it is extremely rich. i added little brownie pieces to my icecream for that little something more and ith was really yum!
 
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: zaha2021
Great recipe-very rich. Will definitely use again and serve with some berries and possibly a drizzle of pureed berries. Would serve at a dinner party- I am so confident this would rate.
 
05 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Fiona45
Fantastic - very decadent but great!
 
12 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: AmandaNorton
Great recipe. While custard was cooling I baked a choc fudge brownie, chilled and chopped it up into small pieces, then placing pieces in a zip lock in the freezer ready to add to the icecream during the final minutes of churning in the icecream maker. YOU WILL NOT REGRET TRYING THIS . I normally hate chunks of stuff in my smooth creamy icecream, but the chewy bits of brownie are the perfect complement to this great icecream recipe
 
Comment:
02 Mar 2013
lamboinoz said:
After reading the reviews I increased the proportion of milk to cream to 1:1 (1.5 c of each) and reduced the sugar to just over half a cup. It still came out creamy and delicious. But what to do with the 3 egg whites? I love almonds and chocolate and a search for almond macaroon recipes gave lots to choose from. Great combination. The ice cream is fantastic alone; with the macaroons we're in dinner party territory.
 
03 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: RobertNimmo
This recipe is the bomb. Next time though I am going to 1/2 the sugar and fold in the cream after whipping it.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes