My Reviews (14)

Spicy Gingerbread Men

This is the only recipe I have ever used for gingerbread. It has never let me down and gets dragged out every year again for Christmas.
Reviews (14)


26 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: applecactus
Fabulous recipe! I've made this a couple of times with a few fun spicy tweaks. I don't think you can top this recipe! I cooked them for about 8-9 minutes to keep them a little on the soft side. I have also made the dough and kept it refrigerated for 18 or so hours and they still turned out great!
 
Comment:
26 Dec 2010
applecactus said:
Something else. I used only 1/2 a teaspoon of cloves, but added 1/2 a teaspoon of cardamom. The best bit though was the 3/4 teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper I added, bit of a subtle zing!
 
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: wulfsiege
Great and easy recipe. I like a bit of spice in my gingerbread so its nice to find a recipe that has that in mind. I used some small bite sized cookie cutters and got a batch of 86 cookies. My friends especially liked the Kahlua icing that I dipped them into with a chocolate Smartie to finish them off. They couldn't stop eating them throughout the night. I also made another batch for myself where I added a dash of ground Cardamon for a lovely exotic flavour (not too much!) and added a bunch of Blackcurrants so that they didn't need to be iced. Great with a cup of tea!
 
Comment:
19 Jan 2010
wulfsiege said:
Something else. Add 1/8th teaspoon of ground Cardamon. Add 200g of Blackcurrants. Use a sharp cookie cutter for those times when a Blackcurrant needs to be cut to make the shape. No need to ice them.
 
07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: amanda
Well my first gingerbread! made as an experiment, worked out tasty just like I'd hoped. I probably wont ice this batch but definitely will the next. Used golden syrup-yum.
 
18 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: aliwicks29
This was an easy recipe to make, and they taste great. I'm never sure when gingerbread is cooked and I too have a dud oven, like a toaster oven. I cooked them for about 12 minutes. They should be light brown when they come out of the oven and they will still be quite soft, so be careful. If you bump them they will have a mark in them, or you could make a little face on them. When they cool them become harder.
 
23 May 2009
Reviewed by: alicejac
Delicious recipe, just yum! Took about twice the time to cook but that may just be our dud oven.
 
27 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: nhdesign
Best gingerbread recipe I've ever found! Delicious spices, I made small round biscuits and they're amazing!
 
28 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: AmiraHarwood
Best gingerbread recipe I've ever used. The additional spice added an interesting flavour which complemented the ginger. The recipe was easy and the dough easy to work with. They pleased everyone in the family - from the picky 2 yr old to the ravenous teenager and even Dad who doesn't like gingerbread normally. I also liked that the recipe is pretty healthy with not a lot of sugar if you leave off the icing.
 
23 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: LindaWest
Great recipe. I used less cloves though than it said, about 1/4t and same for nutmeg. You also need to note it needs a resting time of 1hr which isn't stated in the recipe times at all. But it turned out well. I made ninjabread men
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes