My Reviews (91)

Korean Beef Stir Fry

This is a traditional beef stir fry from Korea where it is known ad Chap Chae, it is quick and easy to make with lots of vegetables and cellophane noodles.
Reviews (91)


10 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Rosie
Very nice flavours, we enjoyed this dish
 
Comment:
10 Jul 2009
Rosie said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I didn't have any standard soy sauce so used a sweet soy usually reserved for marinade, so just redused the quantity.
 
27 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: BigBob
Great recipe, I used Brown Sugar and Brown Onions and doubled the amount of meat. My wife love the sweetness of the brown sugar with a trailing pepper taste.
 
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: TKEENAN
Traditionally, bamboo shoots are not used in korean cooking. I advice subsititing the bamboo shoots for shitake mushrooms. Also, I would add yellow onions in addition to the green onions and more garlic. We Koreans incorporate a lot of garlic in our cooking. I do not usually add nappa cabbage to my version, but it is nice to add for the additional color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: AROMKIM
this is not the correct way to make the original recipe. instead of napa cabbage and bamboo shoots try fresh(boiled) or frozen spinach drained with a little sesame oil on it... and adivce is to slighty sautee the veges before adding them to the noodles.. and it looks prettier if the carrots are cut into veritcal pieces.. and sauteed onions with this dish wouldnt be bad.. lol personally i love it the way my momma makes it ^^~
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: MERRYMOBERRY
I work in a Korean run restaurant and every once in a while, my bosses mom makes Chap Chae. It's my most favourite Korean dish. This is a very good recipe, the only thing I changed was I used sweet potato noodles instead of the cellophane noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Chin
Tastes almost exactly like my favorite Korean place's chap chae. I did not soak the noodles in warm water and instead boiled them for 5 minutes, like the directions on the noodles indicated, before draining them and setting aside for cooking. I did not add bamboo shoots or salt but I did add mushrooms. I plan on adding some red bell peppers and maybe onions next time. It ended up tasty and was quick and easy to make. Also tasted a lot better than chap chae recipes I've had from actual Korean cookbooks. Finally, I think that this recipe is more like 2 servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Minyoung
gees... Use sweet potato noodle, not cellophane noodles. you can find it in korean(or some asian) supermarkets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: LORLOR80
This was very good. I used regular shredded cabbage instead of the napa and added a little bit more sugar. I also added some hot sauce toward the end of cooking and it really added a lot to the dish. I found that the noodles were a little too long and it made it hard to combine it with the meat and vegetables, so I cut them into smaller pieces and it worked wonderfully. Very easy and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: RBALL63
Having spent time in Korea and a frequent visitor to the local Korean restaurant, I found this recipe to be very authentic...and not too hard to make! We doubled the recipe for a family of 4 though. Don't forget to make/buy the sidedish of kimchi.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes