My Reviews (59)

Turkish Mince and Potatoes

This is a Turkish recipe that is called Musaka (spellings may vary). It's a tasty twist on meat and potatoes.
Reviews (59)


31 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Heather Marrero
So this was my first time making this and I didn't realize I should let it cool a bit before serving. I also tried to make more and the top (yogurt and egg mixture wasn't as thick as I think it should have been). Aside from it looking a little messy though, this was an amazing recipe! My kids and husband loved it. My children have been asking me to make it again since Saturday so, I'm going to make more today! This time I plan on making the yogurt and egg mixture a bit thicker. Maybe a little bit of flour? I also added garlic to the first one I made since my family and I love garlic. So I will be doing that again this time. Other than that, I didn't add anything else. This recipe is definitely going into my family favorite recipe book. Thank you so much for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Maevyn
I followed the recipe completely, and although the taste was alright, it was soupy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Rossen Christov
I use this recipe as a threshold since the quantities stated here are just perfect. If you're missing the chubrica ingredient just postpone it until you got it, since it's key part of that dish. Ross
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2014
Reviewed by: Madi08
Even after almost 2 hrs in the oven, the potatoes were still hard! I ended up cranking the temp to 400° and covering it with foil and they finally softened after about half an hour. I also tripled all the seasonings bcuz it was quite bland with the recommended amount. If I make this again I will definitely drain the meat after cooking. It was super greasy and also the yogurt didn't brown as shown as shown in pic but it tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: GemmaSephton
Lovely receipe I did make my own version after adding more herbs as in tbsp but did a bigger portion size... I also added aubergine, courgette and onions to it with tinned tomatoes and pinch of nutmeg for the yougut sauce But the sauce is lovely
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: syngar99
I just have one thing to add- chubritsa is actually just "savory". Easily found in most grocery stores.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: spavlova
My husband is Bulgarian, and I have had such a hard time finding recipes for traditional Bulgarian dishes to cook at home. This recipe was fantastic. His words were, "it's just like my grandmother makes it." I doubled the spices and used 60% ground pork, 40 % ground beef upon his suggestion. I also used a lot more yogurt than it calls for because he likes a thick fluffy top. I think it was a little over 2 c greek yogurt and 3 or 4 eggs with some salt for flavor. He LOVES it! If anyone has recipes for banitsa, kyufte, or kebabche, please share!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Diana Underwood
This is a great recipe! I make only couple of changes to it though... I brown the beef with a chopped onion and I do not drain the fat. I will add the tomato sauce, seasoning( the best one is thyme) and let the meat cool off. I add an egg to the mixture just to keep it together and not look like spaghetti meat. I boil the potatoes and mash them up. In greased pan I pour half of the mashed potatoes, spread the meat( all of it) and the spread the remaining mashed potatoes. I use water enough to cover everything and bake at 325 for 35-40 minutes, and the i use 3-4 beaten eggs to pour over. Bake until the eggs looked cooked and serve with sour cream and chopped green onions for taste. Enjoy it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: cookiecutter
There are a few things that are omitted from the recipe. The egg, flour, yogurt and cilantro mixture that you put on top comes in at the end. You first cook the other ingredients until most of the water has evaporated (reduction) and then when the potatoes are brown and can easily be cut into with a knife, you pour the "hat" of yogurt, milk and flour which then solidifies the meat and potatoes and gives the whole dish a lasagna-like square look. When the egg mixture gets light brown is when the dish is ready to chill and serve. Meat could be substituted, Bulgarians like to do it with a 50/50 mix of veal/pork or lamb/pork.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Ana
Very flavorful! I doubled the amount of paprika and kept all other ingredients at about the recommended amounts. Since I didn't have summer savory, I substituted with thyme + sage. Instructions worked out great, although I did saute my ground turkey with some minced garlic. Dish would be better with eggplant. I also served this with lowfat plain yogurt on the side, and the combo of hot and cold temperatures and savory with sour was very, very good and very tantalizing even though it was so healthy! The two of us gobbled half the dish in one night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes