My Reviews (59)

Turkish Mince and Potatoes

This is a Turkish recipe that is called Musaka (spellings may vary). It's a tasty twist on meat and potatoes.
Reviews (59)


14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: craigss21
Great easy meal that allows you to use indreidents you have already in the kitchen. Loved it!!
 
Comment:
14 Feb 2013
AmyA81 said:
great recipe- fyi- moussaka is a greek dish
 
06 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: amg392
My whole family loved this recipe, the only complaint was that there wasn't enough of it I will definitely be doubling the recipe next time
 
09 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: JodieGresinger
I also added cubed eggplant and cheese and onions it was so good
 
10 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Marge3
Made this yummy recipe, but instead of baking in the oven for 40 minutes I baked for 30 and put under the grill for five and it was really lovely and brown
 
13 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: JillWozhere
I made some slight variations to the recipe, such as I used half normal potatoes and half sweet potato, also I added a large diced onion. I didn't use any olive oil as the mince was fatty enough on it's own. Had I chose to use oil, I'd have used virgin coconut oil. Also I used a large chopped tomato, as well as about half a cup of no added salt tomato paste, instead of tomato purée, due to a lack of tomato purée in my pantry. I didn't add as much water as the recipe suggested, rather just enough to cover the bottom of the pan and I simmered it with the lid on. Instead of salt I added a reduced salt chicken cube. I doubled all the ingredients, to feed my hungry family and also added about a cup of cheddar cheese to the egg/yoghurt topping. I used natural Greek yoghurt. I didn't have any basil, so had no choice but to omit that. I served it with oven bake chips, a home made Greek salad and turkish bread garlic bread.. I thought the dish was absolutely delicious and will definitely be making it again. Thanks for the recipe!
 
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: CAVAZOSJM
This was easy to make and taste was great! I have one question for the writer. After browning the ground beef you did not say wether to drain the grease from the pan. And after pouring in the water it was soup like. So when I poured the egg and yougrt on top, before I baked it, it sunk into the liquid. Was this the intention? I wanted to follow the recipe so I did not drain. Please respond.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
Altered this a bit based on reviews. Used fine herbs in place of chubritsa. Omitted the EVOO all together...just browned my meat, potatoes, and onions and drained off what little grease there was. Added a 14.5 can of diced tomatoes in sauce, doubled the other spices and added 2 more chopped tomatoes and let this simmer to help with the 'raw' potato issue. Omitted the water altogether. I also added eggplant. Salted the eggplant first and placed in a colander w/weight on top to squeeze out that bitter juice. Rinsed off and sauteed in EVOO and layered the meat/potato mixture and eggplant. It was amazing how much this smelled like gyro meat while it was cooking and also tasted a bit like it too. Loved the easy yogurt sauce in place of the harder to make Bechamel. Sprinkled the top of the yogurt sauce w/a little nutmeg to make it more like a traditional Bechamel sauce found on Moussaka. Covered at first then the last ten minutes took the lid off. The potatoes were completely done. Also only used 2 potatoes and 1 larger eggplant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: jmerar
I am Bulgarian and the dish is almost spot on. Traditionally we use pork instead of beef. In the states I use half pork and half beef, draining the fat after browning. Also, a very crucial step is that the yogurt/egg/ mixture should be added to the top about 10 minutes before the dish is done cooking, not at the beginning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: RHONDABOONE
I used beef broth instead of water and it was quite scrumptious. The entire family enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes