My Reviews (491)

Instant Ice Cream

A fast way to make delicious ice cream in a food processor or blender. Use any frozen fruit in place of the strawberries.
Reviews (491)


04 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: cassandra
This recipe does deliver on its promise- instant ice cream that is very fruity and creamy and lovely BUT you need a food processor. My blender just couldnt cope with the frozen strawbs and I had to use a whole combo of every tool I had to eventually get this made. Use a food processor!
 
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: kara
i think next time i would use caster sugar as it had a fairly grainy texture. i would also try substituting yoghurt instead of cream for a slightly healthier alternative.
 
11 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Brit_6
Great Job! Delicious and easy to prepare. New healthy and quick dessert
 
21 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: kreationsbyk
So very easy - made with an elderly group and they all loved it!
 
09 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: courtney
So quick and easy!!! I used a mix of 5 berries and used half rapadura (unrefined) sugar for a richer flavour and it was a big hit with our guests! This one will definately become a staple.
 
14 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: leon
I agree with cassandra you need the food processor. I chopped the strawbs before I froze then which did help it combine. This is a great - almost healthy??:-) - alternative to full-on creamy ice cream. A nice idea
 
20 May 2005
Reviewed by: Jasinski
What a superbly easy and tasty recipe. We've made it over and over. One hint if you're using a blender instead of a food processor add half the cream to the blender first and then drop in the frozen berries while the blender is running. Add the remaining cream and sugar as called for. I don't have a f.p. and when I tried it the first time in my blender the berries kept getting stuck and the cream froze onto the berries. But I learned and I love the custardy ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: danilsky
try using vanilla lowfat yogurt being that it is already sweetened.This way u cut the fat and not the flavor.You can combine the frozen fruit and yogurt in the blender...been doing this for years!enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: CHRISTMASCOFFEE
This is so easy to make and so delicious and creamy. My mom, a dedicated chocoholic, thought it was wonderful. I used mixed berries (no frozen strawberries left by the time I went shopping) and it was delicious, if seeds bother you try another fruit. Am going to try with frozen peaches next time. If you don't have an ice cream maker and want to try home made ice cream, you have to try this. Two thumbs ups!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Holy cow! Is this GOOD! I doubled it, knowing that other reviewers had said that it makes such a small amount. We LOVE ice cream in this house and this is better than anything I've bought in the last ten years. Really creamy and rich tasting. I've made strawberry this time, but I plan on experimenting with fresh nectarines and peaches next. EDITED 06/12/08: I've made this with mandarin oranges AND bananas. Not quite as good as the strawberry. The mandarin oranges were drained really well, but still made this ice cream more "ice-crystal-ly." The banana was a more subtle flavor, and you really didn't need a whole lot of sugar with the bananas. I think I might try fresh nectarines next, then move back to berries. The whole family is still raving about the strawberry. EDITED 06/21/08: I made a triple batch of this today with blackberry, blueberry and strawberry. Delicious! EDITED YET AGAIN: I have now made this with FF half-n-half and half the amount of sweetener only using Splenda and still have it come out great. Good dessert for someone who is either diabetic and has to watch their sugars OR someone who's trying to lose weight but still have something sweet every once and a while.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes