My Reviews (344)

Asian Garlic and Ginger Dressing

Great salad dressing for all types of salads. This recipe makes a large amount and you can store the dressing in the fridge.
Reviews (344)


16 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Lorry.fran
This had just enough "tang" to it! Didn't change a thing! Delicious ,
 
09 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CHI BA
I changed this dressing to give it more of an authentic Asian style flavor by substituting sesame oil for the olive oil and it ended up tasting GREAT!! I also added some pepper for a bit of a kick along with chopped green onions...what a delicious flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
The only reason I didn't give this recipe five stars is I made the recommended changes that other reviewers posted. I cut the soy sauce to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup sesame oil, and since my carafe was too small I didn't add the water. I did however have to stop myself from eating the dressing with a spoon. This stuff is great. Only additional change I would possibly make is to add more vinegar or less honey, I found it a little too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Eric Emmons
My wife loves the ginger dressing you get at japaneese restaurants! When I made this she flipped! It was great. I did however take the suggestion of half the called for soy sacuce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2005
Reviewed by: HOUSTONGAL31
This is a fantastic recipe and will make it again! I did make a few changes that everyone has loved: I omit the water, and use 1-2Tbs. sugar instead of honey. Instead of olive oil, I used half vegetable oil and half sesame oil. I also added 2 Tbs. fresh lime juice, and chopped green onions, then blended with food processor/blender for the right texture. I have made this dressing a few times and with the little adjustments are always a hit with everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2003
I love the ginger dressing at my favorite Japanese Steakhouse, and this is close. I cut the amount of soy in half, and substituted half of the olive oil with sesame oil. It was very good in salad with grilled chicken and mandarin oranges. I have even marinated my chicken in the dressing, and it makes great marinade.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Amanda Fetters
This is exactly what I was looking for, and it tasted fantastic on the Almond Mandarin Salad also on this web site. I did substitute half the olive oil for sesame oil & left out the water, which I think made a really big (and positive) difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JENNIFER72_00
I cut down on the soy sauce and added some sesame oil in place of half of the olive oil. I also toasted a few spoons of sesame seeds and added them as well. I used this as the dressing in both a garden salad and a chinese chicken pasta salad. I let the pasta salad marinate in the mixture overnight and it was really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: philly2008
Our favorite dressing! We use reduced sodium soy sauce and agave instead of honey sometimes and it's still delicious! Another great tip to avoid wasting ginger - peel it, stick it in a freezer bag and freeze it! It's actually easier to grate frozen anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: mjhutch
This was very good, it was exactly what I was looking for. I tossed it with red leaf lettuce, shredded carrots, chopped green onions, grape tomatoes, and sesame seeds; it was wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes