My Reviews (510)

Tofu and Vegetable Coconut Curry

My vegetarian daughter-in-law gave me her recipe for a creamy and spicy vegetable and tofu curry. It's great.
Reviews (510)


17 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: MelleSeamstress
This was actually really delicious! I added red capsicum and didn't include the basil. Very light and fresh, I'm sure this would be even better the next day, but there wasn't any left!
 
12 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: NewCook
I let the water drain out of the extra firm tofu for a half hour (placing a cutting board on top with a little bit of weight added), then cut the tofu in strips and froze them. The next day I poured boiling water over the frozen tofu for a quick thaw. I sauted the tofu in some olive oil to further firm it up, then proceeded w/the recipe. This really improved the texture of the tofu as the first time I made the recipe I found the tofu to be kind of mushy and soft. The flavors here are great, even better the next day as left overs. Next time i make it I'll increase the sauce quantity because when serving over rice there's just not enough to keep everyone happy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: CRABBYLADY
This was a fast, easy and nutritious meal. The bok choy at the grocery looked awful, so I substituted a bag of fresh spinach at the last few minutes of cooking and served with couscous instead of rice for a change. My whole family loved it. Husband took the leftovers for lunch the next day, flavors were even better,even over rice leftover from the day before. Will do this often
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: TRUCKERDOO
Fantastic spicy coconut curry flavor. I left out the green onions and basil, and it was still great. I also substituted the bok choy for green cabbage, which was very good. 4 cups, however, I think is excessive. I also fried the tofu first so it held together in cubes, and I sauteed the mushrooms in a bit of olive oil and garlic before adding them to the sauce. Served over Jasmine Rice. I ate the leftovers for lunch and they were even better than dinner, because the coconut and curry flavors had time to really develop overnight. A great recipe, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CMB146
Great recipe. Very flavorful! I fried the tofu in one tsp. of olive oil before I added it. Also, do not overcook the vegies; they provide a nice crunchy texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Delilah
I made this for my boyfriend and his roommate (both avid carnivores) and they both liked it very much. It wasn't quite to my liking because it wasn't solid enough (even over rice) and was just a little bit too spicy. I will make it again, but may try searing the tofu in a separate pan to give it a solid "skin." I used extra firm tofu and it still fell apart in the sauce. I will also use maybe 2/3 of the chili paste, try adding different vegetables, add garlic, and more ginger. I agree with a previous reviewer - could use some corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Definitely worth experimenting with though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Loladear
My husband loved this so much he didn't notice it was vegetarian until the next day when eating leftovers! He then said that the Tofu tasted really good and it was okay with him if we had tofu instead of chicken in this dish in the future. This dish was so easy to make. I used canned diced (drained) tomatoes and canned mushrooms because that's what I had handy. I used less green onions and less minced fresh ginger (too lazy to mince more) and added a tad bit more brown sugar. My coconut milk can said "coconut cream" but the only ingredient to speak of was coconut milk. This came out so creamy. I suggest adding other spices for those who want a more complex flavor. We cooked and diced potatoes on the side and then added it later. To compensate I added extra curry and chili sauce(brand with the rooster on it). We'll be having this dish again soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ELISEDINER
I had never made tofu before and stumbled on to this recipe; it's delicious. What a fantastic blend of color, taste, texture, and spices; a feast for the eyes, nose, mouth, and belly! Thanks Kathy for sharing this recipe and for making my first experience with tofu so memorable. I'll definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: CGUEST29
Can't believe anyone would describe this recipe as bland. I found it quite hot and spicy. Maybe it depends on the type of chili paste you use. I used the kind that comes from the asian grocery that has lots of seeds in it and a picture of a rooster on the front. Also substituted Thai red curry for the curry powder. Really tasty and exotic. Lots of flavor for a vegetarian dish. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CHANGING HABITS
Great flavor.I have to be careful about things being too spicy so I'm experimenting with amount of chili paste and curry. Most importantly, it fits with my Weight Watchers Program at only 4 pts per serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes