My Reviews (98)

Coconut Satay Sauce

This is a basic Malaysian/Thai satay sauce you can use with any meat, tofu or vegetable dish. Very easy to make.
Reviews (98)


12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: teresahanna
This recipe is incredibly easy and very tasty. My kids love it too.
 
06 May 2012
Reviewed by: jillperth
To keep this low carb, use Kepac Manis instead of dark soy and leave out the brown sugar. Also use unsweetened peanut butter (if you can find it!) Can add a clove of crushed garlic also.
 
02 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: SylviaMurray
Made this sauce tonight. Substituted oil with coconut oil and added a squeeze of lemon juice. It was delicious. Will make again for sure.
 
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: MUSLIMAH
This sauce is surprisingly very good with very little ingredients. In my country we make this sauce from scratch and it is a very tedious process. I am so happy to find this recipe. So close to the original. If you like it hot like me, you can add sambal oelek (hot red chili sauce)or red chili flakes.Yumm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: love2bake
I have searched for this recipe forever and here it is!Beautiful. Only problem I had was that I only had access to non-natural skippy type peanut butter,so when I boiled the ingredients, the oil separated from the rest of the mix. I needed to whisk the oil back in, as no amount of spoon stiring helped. I don't know if anyone else had this problem when using natural peanut butter.I also plan on using the leftovers to make a cold thai pasta salad that has penne, apple chunks, ginger(already in satay sauce), chicken chunks, green onions and small bits of brocoli just like I used to buy at my favorite cafe diner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
This was thicker than my usual satay sauce, but had a good flavor. I love coconut milk and am always looking for ways to experiment with it. I tossed this with pad thai noodles and rather than chunky peanut butter, I used the creamy kind and ground up my own peanuts to sprinkle on top. Thanks Steve.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: ADELINE D
This is the most authentic peanut sauce if you are looking for what is similar to those found in restaurants...it is made with coconut milk. If the recipe is too bland for your taste, increase the heat with a hot sauce, cayenne, more red pepper flakes or whatever you want. I put lots of ginger in mine. I don't even measure how much. I estimate a tablespoon or more. If the recipe is not peanutty enough, add more peanut butter. As long as it has the coconut milk and the peanut butter it is an extremely flexible recipe. In addition to lots of ginger, this recipe is served well by generous garlic as well. I serve this over chicken skewers marinated in an improvised teriyaki sauce with the red chili sauce (not rooster sauce) with rice and edamame. A perfect, easy and reliable meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: oyfinth
Very very easy to make, and easy to modify if you wish to add your own personal touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 May 2006
Reviewed by: Yummum
I'd give it no stars if I could. It was gross. It tasted like the grossest peanut butter you could imagine. I'm a really good cook, and I followed the recipe to a tee. I dunno what everyone else is talking about. This recipe is NOT good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Chuck
This Satay sauce is so good that it's so close to the one in the Thai place I eat atand the flavors are just irrestible that this sauce is excellent with Thai Satay of chicken or Beef It's SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes